USA Triathlon News Articles Nine U.S. Paratriath...

Nine U.S. Paratriathletes to Compete Saturday at ITU World Paratriathlon Iseo-Franciacorta

By USA Triathlon | June 28, 2018, 10:46 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Nine of the United States’ top paratriathletes are set to compete in Iseo-Franciacorta, Italy, this Saturday in the second stop of the 2018 ITU World Paratriathlon Series (WPS). The sprint-distance course features a 750-meter swim in Lake Iseo, a scenic 21-kilometer bike that travels through the old city center and a fast 5-kilometer run that finishes in Iseo’s main square.

The first wave of athletes is set to start at 10:55 a.m. ET (4:55 p.m. local time), and the last wave goes off at 12:13 p.m. ET (6:13 p.m. local time). Fans can access a free finish-line livestream at Live updates will also be available throughout the competition @TriathlonLive on Twitter.

The U.S. contingent is highlighted by three standouts in the women’s PTS2 division, as the trio who swept the podium at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games compete together for the first time since that historic race. Allysa Seely (Glendale, Ariz.), Hailey Danz (Wauwatosa, Wis.) and Melissa Stockwell (Chicago, Ill.) earned gold, silver and bronze, respectively, in paratriathlon’s debut in Rio. 

Danz is currently ranked No. 1 in the world in the women’s PTS2 division. She started her season strong in March with a win at the Sarasota-Bradenton CAMTRI Paratriathlon American Championships, and followed that with a silver-medal performance at ITU World Paratriathlon Yokohama in May.

Seely was the gold medalist in Yokohama, her first international race since taking silver last year at the ITU Paratriathlon World Championships.  

Stockwell has yet to make her 2018 WPS debut, but she did grab silver at Sarasota-Bradenton in March and gold at the Eton Dorney ITU Paratriathlon World Cup in May.

A U.S. athlete also tops the start list in the men’s PTS2 division. After taking silver at the ITU Paratriathlon World Championships last September, Mark Barr (Davis, Calif.) has carried his success into 2018 with victories at both the Sarasota-Bradenton CAMTRI Championships and ITU World Paratriathlon Yokohama. Mohamed Lahna (Colorado Springs, Colo.), a 2016 Paralympic bronze medalist for Morocco, is No. 2 on the start list after taking bronze at Sarasota-Bradenton and fourth in Yokohama.

The men’s PTS4 division will see Omar Bermejo (Casper, Wy.,) make his WPS season debut. The two-time U.S. national champion, who placed fourth at ITU World Paratriathlon Edmonton in 2017, will be chasing his first international podium.

Chris Hammer (Salt Lake City, Utah), bronze medalist at the 2017 ITU Paratriathlon World Championships, leads the men’s PTS5 division. He earned a narrow victory over Mexico’s Juan Carlos Cano Espinoza in March at the Sarasota-Bradenton CAMTRI Championships, and followed that with a bronze-medal performance in Yokohama in May. 

Amy Dixon (Encinitas, Calif.) and guide Kirsten Sass will contend for the podium in the women’s PTVI division. Dixon is No. 2 on the start list after taking bronze at Sarasota-Bradenton in March. She has six career medals in ITU World Paratriathlon events, but has not been at the top of the WPS podium since 2016 in Yokohama.

In the men’s PTVI division, Brad Snyder (Baltimore, Md.) will make his second career WPS start, guided by Tommy Brown. A seven-time Paralympic medalist in swimming, Snyder is a newcomer to the international paratriathlon scene. Still, he claimed bronze at Sarasota-Bradenton in March and placed an impressive fifth at his WPS career debut in Yokohama.

Complete start lists for ITU World Paratriathlon Iseo-Franciacorta are available at The ITU World Paratriathlon Series stops next in Edmonton, Canada, on July 27, the final stop before the ITU Paratriathlon World Championships on Sept. 15 in Gold Coast, Australia.

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 events and connects with more than 400,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).


Related Athletes

head shot

Allysa Seely

head shot

Hailey Danz

head shot

Melissa Stockwell

head shot

Mark Barr

head shot

Mohamed Lahna

head shot

Omar Bermejo

Nordic Skiing
US Paralympics
head shot

Chris Hammer

head shot

Bradley Snyder

head shot

Amy Dixon