USA Triathlon News Articles Nation's Top Paratri...

Nation's Top Paratriathletes to Compete for National Titles in Pleasant Prairie This Weekend

By USA Triathlon | June 21, 2017, 3:13 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The United States’ most talented paratriathletes, including four U.S. Paralympians, will compete for national titles in Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, on Sunday at the USA Triathlon Paratriathlon National Championships.

The event will take place in conjunction with the Pleasant Prairie Triathlon at Prairie Springs Park. Set for 6:30 a.m. CT, the race features a sprint-distance 750-meter swim, 20-kilometer bike and 5-kilometer run course. Athletes will swim in scenic Lake Andrea, bike on flat and fast roads in the Village of Pleasant Prairie, and run on paved paths to the finish line within Prairie Springs Park.

Athletes will compete for national titles in six paratriathlon sport classes, revised for 2017. Four members of the 2016 U.S. Paralympic Team are currently on the start list, including silver medalist Hailey Danz (PTS2, Chicago, Ill.), fourth-place finishers Chris Hammer (PTS5, Salt Lake City, Utah) and Elizabeth Baker (PTVI, Roswell, Ga.), and top-10 finisher Patricia Collins (Alexandria, Va., PTS4). 

Five of Sunday’s competitors have proven they are in top form this season with podium performances at World Paratriathlon Series events in April and May. Hammer won back-to-back gold medals at the first two WPS stops in Gold Coast, Australia, and Yokohama, Japan. Baker, Collins, Danz and Mary Kate Callahan (PTHC, Chicago, Ill.) have also reached the WPS podium this year. The series continues in Edmonton, Canada, on July 28, and culminates with the Grand Final in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on Sept. 15.  

Also competing in Sunday’s national championship is five-time ITU Paratriathlon world champion Aaron Scheidies (Seattle, Wash.), who will be the favorite in the men’s PTVI division. 

Top-performing athletes at Paratriathlon Nationals who are not already members of the USA Paratriathlon National Team will be considered for the USA Paratriathlon Development Team Program, designed to identify and develop athletic potential leading toward the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games. More information on the USA Paratriathlon Development Team Program is available in this PDF document.

To compete at Paratriathlon Nationals, athletes must be officially classified and have competed at a USA Triathlon or ITU Sanctioned Event that meets distance and time standards between May 1, 2016, and May 28, 2017. A National Classification opportunity will be offered in Pleasant Prairie prior to the event.

Sunday’s event will also feature a Physically Challenged Open Division, available to paratriathletes who are not classified or do not meet the qualifying time standards. This wave has no qualification criteria and does not qualify athletes for national titles.

In total, more than 50 paratriathletes are currently registered to compete in either the National Championship event or the Physically Challenged Open Division.

Live coverage of the event will be available via @USATLive on Twitter and at For more information about the USA Triathlon Paratriathlon National Championships, visit Complete event information for the Pleasant Prairie Triathlon is available at    

To apply for a media credential, please fill out the USAT National Events Media Credential Request Form or contact Caryn Maconi, USA Triathlon Communications Manager, at or 719-200-2384. Credentials, media packets and photographer/videographer vests will be distributed near the finish line of the race venue on Sunday or at the Prairie Springs RecPlex on Saturday by request. Click here for a map of the race venue.

Parking is available at the race site in Prairie Springs Park in the following lots: RecPlex parking lot, south softball fields, new commuter parking lot, Ice Arena lot and along Terwall Terrace. All vehicles must enter Prairie Springs Park from the north intersection of Terwall Terrace and Hwy H (88th Ave). There will be no entrance to the park from Hwy 165. Click here to view a complete parking map.

2016 USA Triathlon Paratriathlon National Champions
750m swim, 20k bike, 5k run
Complete 2016 Results

Female PT1: Mary Kate Callahan (Tucson, Ariz.), 1:35:58
Male PT1: Geoffrey Kennedy (Rio Grande, Puerto Rico), 1:17:28
Male PT2: Brian Norberg (Chicago, Ill.), 1:16:33
Female PT3: Andrea Walton (Chicago, Ill.), 1:36:23
Male PT3: Omar Bermejo (Casper, Wy.), 1:11:14
Female PT4: Ruth Ann Reeves (Hattiesburg, Miss.), 1:17:10
Male PT4: Joel Rosinbum (Austin, Texas), 1:11:57
Female PT5: Ashley Eisenmenger (Tolono, Ill.), 1:30:56
Male PT5: Aaron Scheidies (Seattle, Wash.), 1:06:07

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).

Related Athletes

head shot

Patricia Collins

head shot

Elizabeth Baker

head shot

Hailey Danz

head shot

Chris Hammer