USA Triathlon News Articles Eleven U.S. Elite Tr...

Eleven U.S. Elite Triathletes to Race at ITU World Triathlon Montreal This Weekend

Aug. 03, 2017, 5:19 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Five elite women and six elite men will represent the United States at ITU World Triathlon Montreal this weekend, the seventh of nine stops on the 2017 World Triathlon Series circuit. Montreal is a first-time WTS host, becoming the 24th city in ITU history to host a stop on the circuit.

The Montreal course is the fourth Olympic-distance WTS race of the season, featuring a 1,500-meter swim, draft-legal 40-kilometer bike and 10-kilometer run.

Both the men’s and women’s races will be broadcast live online at, and will air on Universal HD from 8-10 p.m. ET on Monday, Aug. 7. Visit for a complete schedule of Olympic sport broadcasts and channel information.  

The elite women kick off the action on Saturday, racing at 1:36 p.m. ET. Katie Zaferes (Hampstead, Md.) leads the U.S. women in the No. 2 position on the start list. Zaferes is currently second in the WTS season rankings with 3,192 points, behind only Flora Duffy of Bermuda with 3,200. Zaferes has finished fourth or better in her four WTS starts this season, winning a silver medal in Yokohama in May and a bronze last weekend in Edmonton.

Kirsten Kasper (North Andover, Mass.), who is third in the WTS season rankings with 2,677 points, is No. 3 on Saturday’s start list. Kasper has finished top-10 in five of six WTS races so far this season, highlighted by a bronze medal in Yokohama.

Taylor Knibb (Washington, D.C.) hits the start line again after earning her first career WTS medal, a silver, last weekend in Edmonton. At 19, Knibb is the youngest woman to earn a WTS medal in the series’ history, and Montreal will mark only her fourth WTS start.

Also racing for the U.S. women on Saturday are Renée Tomlin (Ocean City, N.J.), who won the Tiszaújváros ITU Triathlon World Cup in July and owns two top-10 WTS finishes this year, and Lindsey Jerdonek (Brecksville, Ohio), who earned a top-five finish at the Montreal World Cup in 2016.

Visit for a complete women’s start list. 

The racing action continues Sunday with the men’s elite race at 1:36 p.m. ET. Ben Kanute (Geneva, Ill.), a 2016 U.S. Olympian, leads the U.S. men on the start list at No. 24. Kanute recorded a top-20 finish at ITU World Triathlon Abu Dhabi in March, and placed 22nd in Edmonton last weekend.

Matt McElroy (Huntington Beach, Calif.), who took silver at the New Plymouth ITU Triathlon World Cup in April, will be in search of more hardware on Sunday. Eric Lagerstrom (Portland, Ore.) who won a World Cup bronze last year in Montreal, will look for another strong performance on the familiar course.

Eli Hemming (Kiowa, Colo.), Seth Rider (Germantown, Tenn.) and Hunter Lussi (Gibson Island, Md.) are also representing the U.S. in the men’s race.

Visit for a complete men’s start list.

Triathlon fans can feel like part of the action with TRIFECTA, the official triathlon fantasy game of the ITU World Triathlon Series. Registration for TRIFECTA is open now at, and podium picks must be submitted prior to the start of the first race.

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).


Related Athletes

head shot

Kevin McDowell

head shot

Eric Lagerstrom

head shot

Renée Tomlin

head shot

Katie Zaferes

head shot

Kirsten Kasper

head shot

Ben Kanute