Multisport Athletes Cap the 2015 Season with Club, Aquabike National Titles

By USA Triathlon | Sept. 25, 2015, 9:37 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Top clubs from across the country won national titles in five divisions on Saturday, Sept. 12, at the USA Triathlon Club National Championships, while standout swim-bike athletes took home Aquabike National Titles on Sunday, Sept. 13.

Held in conjunction with the HalfMax Championship at the Innsbrook Resort in Innsbrook, Missouri, Columbia Multisport led the way for Division I clubs to pick up their eighth Division I title in the past 12 years. Columbia Multisport earned 853 points to take home the gold once again. The Swim Bike Run Triathlon Club of St. Louis claimed top honors in Division II with 424 points, while the Ozark Multisport Club stood out alone at Division III with 146.2 points. Indianapolis-based Tri-LOCO won the Division IV title with 244 points, and JHOP picked up 166 points to win Division V.

A total of 17 teams and more than 400 athletes took part in the club event, which featured a variety of triathlon distances in addition to aquabike and duathlon options. Clubs competed in five divisions based on their membership size, and club members earned points based on their finishes in any of the five races offered on the day. Prize money was awarded to the top three clubs in each division.

USA Triathlon has served more than 1,000 official clubs for the past two years. To find a club in your area, visit

In the Aquabike National Championships, held at Croton Point Park in Croton-on-Hudson, New York, 100 athletes competed for titles in the relatively new swim-bike discipline. In the fourth edition of the Aquabike National Championships, Matt Migonis (Brighton, Mass.) and Karin Biskovich (Amherst, N.H.) posted the fastest overall times of the day in the 1.2-mile swim, 56-mile bike race. A complete listing of all 23 age group or division national champions is below.

2015 USA Triathlon Club National Championships, Innsbrook, Missouri
Club National Champions by Division —
Complete Results
Division I (250-plus total members)
1. Columbia Multisport Club, 853 points
2. St. Louis Triathlon Club, 836 points

Division II (130-249 total members)
1. Swim Bike Run Triathlon Club of St. Louis, 424 points
2. Metro Tri Club – Team Godzilla, 52 points
3. Fort Worth Tri Club, 22 points

Division III (89-129 total members)
1. Ozark Multisport Club, 146.2 points

Division IV (30-88 total members)
1. Tri-LOCO, 244 points
2. Michelob Ultra Big Shark, 207 points
3. Grim Reaper Fitness, 189 points

Division V (2-29 total members)
1. JHOP, 166 points
2. Endurance Company (ECO), 48 points

2015 USA Triathlon Aquabike National Championships, Croton-on-Hudson, New York
Age-Group National Champions — 
Complete Results
1.2-mile swim, 56-mile bike

Overall Female: Karin Biskovich (Amherst, N.H.), 3:06:04
Overall Male: Matt Migonis (Brighton, Mass.), 2:51:13
Masters Female: Karin Biskovich (Amherst, N.H.), 3:06:04
Masters Male: Don Kjelleren (Charlotte, Vt.), 2:59:49
Grand Masters Female: Reenie Parker (Riverside, Conn.), 3:34:30
Grand Masters Male: Douglas McPherson (San Antonio, Texas), 3:15:26
F20-24: Elyse Shapiro (New York, N.Y.), 4:06:49
F25-29: Elizabeth Vermann (St. Louis, Mo.), 3:09:28
M25-29: Michael Pryor (Louisville, Ky.), 3:07:41
F30-34: Alana Shawah (Palm Coast, Fla.), 3:35:44
M30-34: David Cohen (New York, N.Y.), 3:18:04
F35-39: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 3:06:47
M35-39: Matt Migonis (Brighton, Mass.), 2:51:13
F40-44: Karin Biskovich (Amherst, N.H.), 3:06:04
M40-44: Zebulon Nelessen (New York, N.Y.), 3:04:05
F45-49: Joanne Eastwood (Bend, Ore.), 3:24:52
M45-49: Stirling Thomas (Concord, Mass.), 3:01:33
F50-54: Betty Janelle (Atlanta, Ga.), 3:24:02
M50-54: Don Kjelleren (Charlotte, Vt.), 2:59:49
F55-59: Reenie Parker (Riverside, Conn.), 3:34:30
M55-59: Michael McCombs (Marlborough, Mass.), 3:07:15
F60-64: Polly Wright (Eastchester, N.Y.), 3:56:39
M60-64: Douglas McPherson (San Antonio, Texas), 3:15:26
F65-69: Joanne Dondero (Valhalla, N.Y.), 4:49:25
M65-69: Duane Fritchie (Lees Summit, Mo.), 3:34:27
M70-74: Dan Neyenhuis (Naples, Fla.), 4:02:41
M75-79: Dean Paxon (Sun Lakes, Ariz.), 4:23:12
Athena: Melissa Wobbe (Brooklyn, N.Y.), 5:38:46
Clydesdale: Ryan Phillips (South Burlington, Vt.), 3:32:01 

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).