USA Triathlon News Articles USA Triathlon Honors...

USA Triathlon Honors Nation’s Best Duathletes

By USA Triathlon | March 05, 2015, 3:01 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — The best run-bike-run athletes in the United States are recognized today with the announcement of USA Triathlon’s 2014 Duathletes of the Year, including age-group, junior and elite duathletes. The award is presented annually by Garmin and selected by the USA Triathlon Age Group Committee, following nominations by the Duathlon Committee.

“We are seeing a resurgence in duathlon, and in 2014 our duathletes turned in impressive race results across the board, making the selection process challenging but very satisfying for the selection subcommittee,” said Steve Sutherland, chair of the USA Triathlon Age Group Committee Athlete of the Year Subcommittee. “Many of these fine athletes were also outstanding competitors in triathlon, showing diversity and depth of athletic talent in all age groups.”

Matthew Payne (Columbia Heights, Minn.) and Dani Fischer (Wausau, Wis.) earned overall Duathlete of the Year titles. Payne was the overall champion of the standard-distance event at 2014 USA Triathlon Duathlon Nationals, as well as the first amateur finisher at the Oakdale Duathlon and Gear West Duathlon. Fischer claimed the women’s 25-29 championship title in the standard-distance Duathlon Nationals, finishing second overall. She was also the first overall amateur at the Apple Duathlon and winner of the Badger State Games Duathlon.

Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.) and Kirsten Chapman (Edmond, Okla.) were awarded Masters Duathlete of the Year honors. Slavinski was the first Masters finisher at USA Triathlon Duathlon Nationals and USA Triathlon Long Distance Duathlon Nationals, finishing second and sixth overall, respectively. He was also the first amateur finisher and second overall at the Delaware Valley Duathlon. Chapman was fifth overall and winner of the 50-54 age group at Duathlon Nationals. She also claimed overall victories at the Guthrie Super Sprint Duathlon, March in Okarche Duathlon and Fall Classic Duathlon.

Grand Masters Duathlete of the Year honors went to David Burkhart (Brighton, Mich.) and Heysoon Lee (Morristown, N.J.). Burkhart raced his way to the Grand Masters title at USA Triathlon Duathlon Nationals and Long Distance Duathlon Nationals, while Lee won her age group at eight different duathlon events in 2014, including Duathlon Nationals and ITU Sprint Duathlon Worlds.

Up-and-coming duathlon stars Timothy Winslow (Elk Grove, Calif.) and Rebecca Naughton (Des Moines, Iowa) were named Junior Duathletes of the Year. Winslow won his age group twice in one day by completing both the sprint and standard-distance events at Duathlon Nationals. Naughton won her age group and was fourth overall at Duathlon Nationals (sprint) and finished fifth in her age group at ITU Sprint Duathlon Worlds.

Elite Duathlete of the Year awards were given to Dan Hedgecock (St. Paul, Minn.), who earns the title for the third straight year, and Ruth Brennan Morrey (Rochester, Minn.), a two-time winner. Hedgecock was the the Gear West Duathlon champion, finished third at Apple Duathlon and fourth at Oakdale Duathlon. Brennan Morrey set new course records with her victories at the Gear West Duathlon and Apple Duathlon.

The 2014 USA Triathlon Duathletes of the Year and honorable mention selections are as follows:

Men’s Duathlete of the Year: Matthew Payne (Columbia Heights, Minn.)
Honorable Mention: 
Albert Harrison (Boone, N.C.), Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.), Jeff Wilson (Copley, Ohio)

Women’s Duathlete of the Year: Dani Fischer (Wausau, Wis.)
Honorable Mention: 
Diane Hankee (Lino Lakes, Minn.), Laura Kline (New Paltz, N.J.), Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.) 

Men’s Masters Duathlete of the Year: Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.)
Honorable Mention: 
Kevin Konczak (Boulder, Colo.), Kevin O’Connor (Medina, Minn.), Thomas Woods (Lincoln, Neb.)

Women’s Masters Duathlete of the Year: Kirsten Chapman (Edmond, Okla.)
Honorable Mention:
Lisa Bouhler (Lehigh Acres, Fla.), Celia Dubey (Tarpon Springs, Fla.), Kristin Villopoto (Chapel Hill, N.C.) 

Men’s Grand Masters Duathlete of the Year: David Burkhart (Brighton, Mich.)
Honorable Mention:
Don Ardell (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Joe Carr (Blowing Rock, N.C.), David Morrow (Tarpon Springs, Fla.)

Women’s Grand Masters Duathlete of the Year: Heysoon Lee (Morristown, N.J.),
Honorable Mention:
Heather Leach (Seattle, Wash.), Patty Peoples-Resh (Redlands, Calif.), Judith Shepard (Odessa, Fla.)

Men’s Junior Duathlete of the Year: Timothy Winslow (Elk Grove, Calif.)
Honorable Mention:
Jack Toland (Kirkland, Wash.)

Women’s Junior Duathlete of the Year: Rebecca Naughton (Des Moines, Iowa)
Honorable Mention:
Kaytlynn Welsch (Alvin, Texas)

Men’s Elite Duathlete of the Year: Dan Hedgecock (St. Paul, Minn.)
Honorable Mention:
Patrick Parish (Bloomington, Minn.)

Women’s Elite Duathlete of the Year: Ruth Brennan Morrey (Rochester, Minn.)
Honorable Mention:
Lauren Olson (Mesa, Ariz.)

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).