USA Triathlon News Articles Kuhl, Salomon Win Ti...

Kuhl, Salomon Win Titles at Sprint National Triathlon Championship in N.Y.

Aug. 04, 2008, 4:43 p.m. (ET)

TRUMANSBURG, N.Y. — More than 540 individuals and 34 relay teams competed in ideal triathlon conditions August 3 in the USA Triathlon Sprint National Championship at the Cayuga Lake Triathlon.

Travis Kuhl (Lowville, N.Y.) won the men’s overall championship with a time of 1 hour, 4 minutes, 23 seconds. Tamara Salomon (U.S. citizen who resides in Calgary, Alberta) won the women’s race in 1:14:52. Both overall winners broke the previous course records.

“Many athletes came to this event for the first time, joining hundreds of competitors who have competed in the Cayuga Lake Triathlon over the past five years,” said Race Director Jane Miller. “Race day was magical with good weather, positive energy generated by the volunteers and spectators and lightning-fast races.”

Athletes from more than 30 states competed in the event, which took place in 75-degree temperatures with a cooling rain prior to competition. The race consisted of a 750-meter swim, a 14-mile bike and a 5k run and took place at Taughannock Falls State Park in the Finger Lakes Region of upstate New York. The scenic course looped past a 215-foot waterfall and around the crystal waters of Cayuga Lake.

“This year’s USAT Sprint National Championship included a challenging bike and a scenic run with a turnaround near a beautiful 215-foot high waterfall, providing an idyllic setting for talented triathletes from all over the United States,” said Tim Yount, USA Triathlon senior vice president of marketing and communication. “With over 300 volunteers, great sponsorship support, a talented race crew and a huge amount of community backing, the event was a hit with the athletes. It may have been one of USAT’s most successful sprint national championship ever.”

Overall National Champions
Women: Tamara Salomon, Calgary, Alberta (U.S. citizen), 1:14:52
Men: Travis Kuhl, Lowville, N.Y., 1:04:23

Junior National Champions
Women: Emily Healy, Summit, N.J. 1:23:18
Men: Sean McNulty, West Windsor, N.J. 1:09:26

Master National Champion
Women: Jeanette Shelow-MacDougall, New York, N.Y. 1:15:32
Men: Carl Johnston, Ontario, N.Y. 1:06:58

Grandmaster National Champion
Shelly Bloom, Durham, N.C., 1:29:10
Tom Dutton, Livonia, N.Y., 1:16:06

USAT Sprint National Champions
Age Group Results

Official Race Website