2011 USAT Multisport Award Winners

USA Triathlon would like to recognize those who fueled the multisport lifestyle in the 2011 season. There are six new categories, representing various aspects of the Multisport Lifestyle: Volunteer of the Year Award, Jeff Jewell Spirit Award, Military Sport Award, Most Inspirational Comeback Award, Spirit of Multisport Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Below you will find the Multisport award categories with honorable mention and the award winners in bold.

This award honors Jeff Jewell, a massage therapist for Team USA from 2001-2009, active triathlete and devoted USAT annual member.  He lost his battle with brain cancer on November 15, 2010.  He was one of life’s biggest cheerleaders and was an inspiration to everyone he met. The recipient of this award is someone who truly embodies the spirit of Jeff Jewell.
  • Winner: Jennifer Kilinski, Tallahassee, FL
  • Honorable Mention: Eve Bartlett, Dunedin, FL
  • Honorable Mention: Stephen Williamson, Albuquerque, NM

This award recognizes athletes who have made a comeback to the sport after a traumatic or troublesome personal situation.

  • Winners: Katherine Rivera, Miami Shores, FL
  • Winners: Maureen McGowan, Brooklyn, NY
  • Winners: Sean VanGerena, Orlando, FL
  • Winners: Melissa Stockwell, Chicago, IL
  • Winners: Jordan Rapp, Thousand Oaks, CA

This award recognizes an individual or organization whose volunteer leadership in the multisport movement has been transformative and who has mobilized and unified athletes, programs and organizations that improve the events, youth or others affiliated with the sport.

  • Winner: Beth Sanden, San Clemente, CA
  • Winner: Chuck Graziano, Ramsey, NJ
  • Honorable Mention: Keri Schindler and Dan Tun, Chicago, IL
  • Honorable Mention Kevin Collins, Charlotte, NC

This award recognizes those individuals who illustrate the principles of the positive spirit of the sport as displayed through acts of sportsmanship and leadership in multisport, with no deference to athletic ability.

  • Winner: Janit Romayko, Vernon, CT
  • Honorable Mention: Jonathan Wayne Miller, Winston-Salem, NC
  • Honorable Mention: Joella Baker, Harmony, PA
  • Honorable Mention: Elyse Jarard, Cincinnati, OH
  • Honorable Mention: Chris Mosier, New York, NY

This award recognizes the multisport successes achieved by the men and women of the US Armed Forces.

  • Winner: Jolene Wilkinson, Boise, ID, U.S. Air Force Reserve/Guard
  • Winner: Michael Danish, Miami FL, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Honorable Mention: CPT Christopher Cordova, West Point, NY, U.S. Army
  • Honorable Mention: LT. J.g. Derek Oskutis, Chula Vista, CA, U.S. Navy


This award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to USA Triathlon and the multisport lifestyle.  These contributions, whether they have been in performance, leadership, volunteerism or mentorship, must demonstrate impact on the multisport lifestyle and support an extended commitment to the sport.
  • Winner: Richard Ferrel, Marietta, GA
  • Winner: Tom Miller, Fountain Hills, AZ

Congratulations to the winners and honorable mention selections!