USA Team Handball News 2018 Coach of the Ye...

2018 Coach of the Year Nominations

Oct. 22, 2018, 9 a.m. (ET)

USA Team Handball (USATH) is pleased to announce the nomination process for Coach of the Year for 2018 in three categories: Volunteer, Developmental and Doc Councilman Science/Technology.  This program is organized by the U.S. Olympic Committee (USOC) and once USATH determines our COY in the categories listed, they will be submitted to the USOC as our nominees for the USOC’s overall COY recognition amongst all member Olympic /Paralympic Program sports.


  • USATH may nominate up to one coach in each category based on their accomplishments from October 2017-September 2018.

  • Developmental Coach of the Year: Nominee must be coaching at the youth club, high school or junior level, or a coach who is directly responsible for training athletes to reach the junior and/or elite level.

  • Volunteer Coach of the Year: Nominee must be a coach who does not receive payment in any form for his/her involvement in coaching at any level.

  • Doc Councilman Science Award: Nominee must be a coach who utilizes scientific techniques and equipment as an integral part of his/her coaching methods or has created innovative ways to use sport science.

Please note that nomination forms are to be sent to the national office, care of Michael D. Cavanaugh and are to be received as a complete nomination NO LATER THAN the close of business on October 26, 2018 to be considered as valid.  Nominations are to also include a head shot photo of the respective nominee.  Nominations can be sent electronically to or they may be mailed to: USATH, 1 Olympic Plaza, Colorado Springs, CO, 80909.

The 2018 COY Selection Committee will consist of the following individuals:

Patrick Jalabert – Chairman of the USATH Competition Committee

Javier Garcia Cuesta – Recently retired MNT Coach

Jennie Choi – Chairman of the Audit Committee and Board Member

David Thompson – USATH Rep to the USOC Athlete Advisory Council

Michael D. Cavanaugh – USATH CEO (only involved if a tie vote is experienced)

Please be as thorough as possible in completing the respective nomination forms and again, please submit them along with a head shot photo to Michael D. Cavanaugh and NOT directly to the USOC. Results will be announced on or about November 15, 2018.