NYAC defeats defending national champions to win Blue Cup

Feb. 15, 2011, 4:05 p.m. (ET)
New York Athletic Club (NYAC) took down the defending USATH National Championships, Los Angeles Team Handball Club (LA THC), 26:21 to win the 2011 Men's Blue Cup.
Both sides brought squads that featured several players that were not part of the last few National Championships. One of the newcomers was LA THC's Vladimir Andjelic who, despite showing well at the Senior Men's National Team Training Camp on Thursday and Friday, struggled to assert his ability, often getting frustrated with the officially.
The match started off evenly contested with both teams exchanging goals. As halftime approached, things started getting phsyical and a few calls went NYAC's way and the New Yorkers built a halftime lead they would not relinquish. 
Hillery led NYAC in scoring with seven goals while Women's National Team head coach Chris Cappelmann and Men's National Team player Divine Jackson both chipped in five for the Blue Cup championss. MNT goalkeeper Danny Capparelli was stellar as usual in goal, stopping any LA runs from starting.
West Point Black took home bronze, defeating the newly-formed Houston Vikings 28:33. The Vikings lost wing Lars Jedermann in the previous match and were forced to deal with minimal substitutions, leaving them tired and unable to deal with the unrelenting pressure from the Cadets. 
Exciting American prospect Rickey Royal led West Point with eight goals while Dillon Mullane added six of his own for the cadets. Sebastian Arango and Guillermo Acevedo, two of the tournament's top players, carried the Vikings with 12 and 11 goals a piece.
The Cadets lost to NYAC in the semi-finals 21:22 after Gregory Ayers'  long pass fell harmlessly out of bounds with only seconds remaining and the Cadets needing a goal.
1. New York Athletic Club
2. Los Angeles Team Handball Club
3. West Point Black
4. Houston Vikings
5. Carolina Blue
6. Carolina
7. Atlanta
8. Miami Storm
9.  West Point Gold
10.  DC Diplomats
11. Alberta
12. Charlotte
13. Tar Heels