USA Taekwondo News McPherson Takes Bron...

McPherson Takes Bronze at Moscow Grand Prix

By Bill Kellick | Aug. 04, 2017, 3:21 p.m. (ET)

(August 4, 2017) -- American Paige McPherson (Sturgis, S.D.) took home the bronze medal in the women's -67 kilogram division as the elite Grand Prix Series kicked off in Moscow on Friday. 

McPherson reached the semifinal round with a 12-2 victory over France's Magda Wiet Henin in the Round of 16, and a 14-8 win over Sweden's Elin Johansson in the quarterfinals. Facing world champion Nur Tatar of Turkey in the semifinals, the match was decided on the golden point in overtime as Tatar came out on top. She would lose a 7-4 decision to the Ivory Coast's Ruth Gbagbi in the finals. Korea's Hyeri Oh claimed the other bronze medal in the women's -67kg division.

Amanda Bluford (Plymouth, Minn) reached the Round of 16 with a 6-4 triumph over Poland's Anika Godel-Chelmecka, but then lost a 12-3 decision to Oh.

In the women's +67kg division, Jackie Galloway (Wylie, Texas) lost her Round of 16 match to Korea's Da-Bin Lee, 13-9, while Sanaz Shahbazi (Colorado Springs, Colo.) lost her opening match by a 27-1 decision to Germany's Lorena Brandl. Great Britain's Bianca Walkden claimed the gold medal over Korea's Bich-Na Kim, while Lee and Russia's Olga Ivanova took the bronze medals.

In men's +80kg action, Stephen Lambdin (Colleyville, Texas) lost in the waning seconds of his Round of 16 match against Korea's Kyo-Don In, 9-8. Meanwhile Jonathan Healy (Spring, Texas) won his opening match over Serbia's Drasko Jovanov, 10-7, before dropping a 13-3 decision to Great Britain's Mahama Cho. Russia's Roman Kuznetsov defeated In for the gold medal. Bronze medals were claimed by Russia's Yury Kirichenko and Croatia's Vedran Golec. 

The Moscow 2017 World Taekwondo Grand Prix semis and finals will be live-streamed on the World Taekwondo website (, through the World Taekwondo YouTube channel and also on the World Taekwondo’s OTT Platform ( The second Grand Prix of the season will be held in Rabat, Morocco, over Sept 22-24, 2017.

Related Athletes

head shot

Paige McPherson

head shot

Amanda Bluford

head shot

Jackie Galloway

head shot

Sanaz Shahbazi

head shot

Stephen Lambdin

head shot

Jonathan Healy