USA Taekwondo News National Team Finali...

National Team Finalized

April 29, 2012, 6:11 p.m. (ET)

Day 2 qualifiers (l to r): Kelsey Junious, Charlotte Craig, Simone DeVito, Nicole Palma, Mark Lopez, Luke Ford, Jason Neville and Stephen Lambdin

The final pieces of the 2012 U.S. National Taekwondo Team were put in place on Sunday during the final day of the National Team Trials at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Rounding out the 16-member team on Sunday were women's finweight Kelsey Junious (South Windsor, Conn.), women's flyweight Charlotte Craig (Murrieta, Calif.), women's bantamweight Simone DeVito (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.), women's featherweight Nicole Palma (Lake Worth, Fla.), men's lightweight Mark Lopez (Sugar Land, Texas), men's welterweight Luke Ford (Coconut Grove, Fla.), men's middleweight Jason Neville (Oklahoma City, Okla.) and men's heavyweight Stephen Lambdin (Oklahoma City, Okla.).

Junious defeated Emilie Frangione (Huntington, N.Y.), 4-2, in the finweight final, Craig won the flyweight division uncontested, DeVito beat Deireanne Morales (Lynwood, Calif.), 11-7, in the bantamweight final, and Palma won the featherweight class with a 6-0 win over Makayla Phillips (Ravensdale, Wash.).

Lopez qualified for his 10th career National Team with a 2-0 win over Jaysen Ishida (Waipahu, Hawaii) in the lightweight division, Ford edged Tanner Creel (Highlands Ranch, Colo.), 4-3, in the welterweight division, Neville defeated Javier Sanchez (Fort Worth, Texas), 15-4, in middleweight, and Lambdin was forced to a second and deciding match against Christian Suh (Astoria, N.Y.) before prevailing, 6-2.

-Sunday's Won-Loss Records by Division
Sunday's Match-By-Match Results


Related Athletes

head shot

Kelsey Junious

head shot

Charlotte Craig

head shot

Simone DeVito

head shot

Nicole Palma

head shot

Mark Lopez

head shot

Luke Ford

head shot

Jason Neville

head shot

Stephen Lambdin