The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) recognizes USA Taekwondo (USAT) as the National Governing Body (NGB) for the sport of Taekwondo in the United States.  A primary function of the NGB is to conduct national and international events in its sport. 

Taekwondo and the Olympic Games
The object of Taekwondo is to land kicks and punches on your opponent’s scoring zones: one point is awarded for a valid kick or punch to the torso, two points for a valid spinning kick, three points for a valid kick to the head and four points for a turning kick to the head.

The action takes place inside an 8m x 8m ring, with each contest made up of three two-minute rounds. Over their standard white uniform, known as a ‘Dobok’, competitors wear colored protective equipment. The competitor wearing blue is referred to as ‘Chung’, while the competitor in red is ‘Hong’.

Olympic Taekwondo, past and present
Taekwondo made its debut as a demonstration sport at the Seoul 1988 Games, but was not officially added to the Olympic programme until the Sydney 2000 Games. Since then, USA Taekwondo has earned nine Olympic medals-- two gold, two silver and five bronze.

Mailing Address: USA Taekwondo, 1015 Garden of the Gods Rd, Ste 110, Colorado Springs, CO 80907
National Office Phone Number:
(719)-374-5745


STAFF DIRECTORY

Chief Executive Officer
Steve McNally
Steve.McNally@usa-taekwondo.us

Secretary General
Jay Warwick
Jay.Warwick@usa-taekwondo.us

Finance Director
Scarlett Tubridy
Scarlett.Tubridy@usa-taekwondo.us

Senior Director of High Performance
May Spence
May.Spence@usa-taekwondo.us
 

Marketing & Communications Manager
Jose Villalpando
jose.villalpando@usa-taekwondo.us

National Team Manager
Dani Sweigard
Dani.Sweigard@usa-taekwondo.us

Events Manager
Eric Wininger
Eric.Wininger@usa-taekwondo.us

Membership, Referee & Dan Office Manager
Alyssa Allen
Alyssa.Allen@usa-taekwondo.us

Coaching Education Manager
Amanda Reyes
Amanda.Reyes@usa-taekwondo.us

Executive Assistant
Shirley Soares
Shirley.Soares@usa-taekwondo.us

Rankings Manager
Mollie Brauer
Mollie.Brauer@usa-taekwondo.us

 

Name: Penny Warren
Title: Dan Cerification Manager
Email: 
Penny.Warren@usa-taekwondo.us
Name: Penny Warren
Title: Dan Cerification Manager
Email: 
Penny.Warren@usa-taekwondo.us