USATT Nominates Players for 2018 World Team Championships

By USATT | March 06, 2018, 11:11 p.m. (ET)

USATT High Performance Director Joerg Bitzigeio today announced the player nominations for contention of the 2018 World Team Table Tennis Championships in Halmstad, Sweden for TTTeamUSA. After observing the first US Senior National Ranking Tournament in Ohio to get a last impression of the current shape of most of the candidates, the team members were selected based on performances in international and national competition and in training camps in recent months. These considerations along with players' ability to perform strongly as part of the team on the international stage (as well as availability to compete) were the main factors for selection. The following teams will travel to Sweden to compete for the USA, under the guidance of Coaches Gao Jun and Stefan Feth, along with High Performance Director Joerg Bitzigeio for team organization and support. 

Men's Team Selections:
Kanak Jha
Yijun Tom Feng
Nikhil Kumar
Nicholas Tio

Women's Team Selections:
Lily Zhang
Yue Jennifer Wu
Amy Wang
Xinyue Wang

Congratulations to the selected players on their nominations to the team and best of luck preparing to play on the big stage!