USA Table Tennis What's New Champions Named on F...

Champions Named on First Day of 2014 Aurora Cup

By Barbara Wei | Jan. 18, 2014, 9 a.m. (ET)

Mingyu Shi

12 events commenced on the first day of the 2014 Aurora Cup, and 9 champions were named before the lights were turned out at 33,000 square foot tournament venue. Upsets, close encounters, and smiles were all part of 9 events that took place on Saturday, January 18 at the inaugural Butterfly Aurora Cup.

Mingyu Shi took home the Championship crown in both the Open Singles and Open doubles event (with partner Diwei Shi). Nathan Hsu, top seed in the Junior event, took home the Under 18 title but not without a 5-game fight from second seed Tapabrata Dey.

Players from all levels competed in the various rating events which took place on Saturday. Kyle Hess (749) upset many players on his way to the U-1200 crown. The same went for Zhang Xiaoming, the 12th seed, who beat Ken Oh, the 18th seed, to be crowned the U-2000 champion.

The second day of play will feature many more high-level and recreational matches highlighting the variety of players who have come to Aurora for the tournament. These events include the Women’s Singles, Over 40, U-2500, U3800 Doubles and the U-1000 event.