USA Table Tennis What's New 2008 Coaches of the ...

2008 Coaches of the Year

Feb. 11, 2009, 11:02 a.m. (ET)

USATT is pleased to announce the selection of the following coaches as 2008 Coach of the Year in their respective categories:

National Coach of the Year - Teodor (Doru) Gheorghe Colorado Springs, CO

Development Coach of the Year - Rajul Sheth Milpitas, CA

Volunteer Coach of the Year - LA Johnston Pensacola, FL

These individuals have been submitted to the U.S. Olympic Committee as a part of their larger selection process for a Coach of the Year (COY) recognition program that includes all Olympic Program Sports.

We would to thank those individuals who took the time to participate in this nomination process. There were a significant number of nominations received this year over last year and each of the nominees received a thorough review by the Selection Committee.  USATT wants to thank the Coach of the Year Selection Committee members for their time and diligence in this process.  The COY  Selection Committee consisted of John Allen, Coaching Committee Chairman,  Ashu Jain, USATT USOC Athlete Advisory Council Representative, Whitney Ping, USATT USOC Athlete Advisory Council Alternate Representative, Chairman of the USATT Board, Peter Scudner and USATT CEO Michael D. Cavanaugh.