Lindenwood University Wins First US Collegiate Title

By Dax Lowery | March 22, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)

OXFORD, Ohio - Lindenwood University swept the solo, duet, trio and team events at the 2014 U.S. Collegiate National Synchronized Swimming Championships on Saturday to claim its first synchro national title.

The Lady Lions capped the day by edging two perennial powerhouses by one-tenth of a point in the team competition. The Lindenwood squad of Reem Abdalazem, Irene Beaus, McKinzie Chelberg, Anouk Eman, Alyson Haylor, Amanda Mendez, Laia Pons and Dennise Ramirez scored 88.6000 points while Stanford and Ohio State finished tied for second at 88.5000.

Lindenwood captured the Team Trophy with 96 points, followed by Ohio State (91), Stanford (72), Canisius College (62) and The University of The Incarnate Word (56).

Ohio State’s Yuliya Maryanko, who finished second in solo, duet and trio, claimed the Individual High Point Award with 61 points.

Lindenwood’s Mary Killman, a 2012 U.S. Olympian, won gold in solo, duet and trio on Saturday. She took the solo title at 90.4500 points, while OSU’s Maryanko (88.0500) was second and Canisius College’s Svetlana Ponkratova (84.8000) finished third.

Killman teamed with Abdalazem, a 2008 and 2012 Olympian for Egypt, to win duet with 89.3500 points. OSU’s Maryanko and Lorraine Hack, a member of the U.S. National Squad, took second at 86.9000, and Stanford’s Isabella Park and Marisa Tashima finished third at 85.9500.

Lindenwood’s Killman, Eman and Ramirez topped two Ohio State trios to win the event with 88.6000 points. OSU’s Elizabeth Davidson, Hack and Maryanko finished second (88.0500), and teammates Emma Baranski, Lauren Nicholson and Khadija Zanotto were third (86.5000). Davidson and Baranski are also members of the U.S. National Squad.

Several swimmers earned All-America and All-Collegiate status at the conclusion of the national championships, which were held at the Corwin M. Nixon Aquatic Center on the campus of Miami University:


Lorraine Hack, Ohio State; Emma Baranski, Ohio State; Elizabeth Davidson, Ohio State; Isabella Park, Stanford; Megan Hansley, Stanford; Marisa Tashima, Stanford; Evelyna Wang, Stanford; Mary Killman, Lindenwood; Lauren Nicholson, Ohio State; Khadija Zanotto, Ohio State; Dennise Ramirez, Lindenwood; Morgan Boneberg, Ohio State; Leigh Haldeman, Stanford; Katy Wiita, The University of The Incarnate Word


NCAA Division 1: Yuliya Maryanko (61 points), Ohio State; Lorraine Hack (57), Ohio State; Emma Baranski (53), Ohio State.

NCAA Division 2/NAIA: Mary Killman (45), Lindenwood; Reem Abdalazem (43), Lindenwood; Anouk Eman (34), Lindenwood

NCAA Division 3: Emma Willing (22), Wheaton College; Kayla Moses (20), Wheaton College; Nicole Chicoine (13), Wheaton College

Club: Kimberly Goyack (22), University of Florida; Melanie Watkins (18), University of Florida; Daniela De Faria (17), University of Florida

Baranski was first in the A Figures competition on Friday with 82.5260 points. Rounding out the top 5 were Killman (81.8594), Maryanko (80.8646), Davidson (79.1094) and Ponkratova (78.9844).

In B Figures, Ohio State’s Julia Gaylard topped the competition with 69.0536 points. Joining her in the top 5 were Lindenwood’s Caroline Heisterova (68.6696), Ohio State’s Alexa Aton (67.8214), The University of The Incarnate Word’s Emilee Wills (67.3661) and Colorado State’s Kellie Stump (67.2054).

University of Florida’s Amelia Schlak won C Figures at 64.1534, followed by University of Arizona’s Vanden Berge (63.2273), Wheaton College’s Nicole Chicoine (62.6761), University of Richmond’s Katherine Alexander (62.0852) and University of Arizona’s Lauren Meadows (62.0455).

In D Figures, University of Richmond’s Sophia Diamond won with 57.6159 points. Rounding out the top 5 were University of Minnesota’s Marisa Lee (57.4203), University of Arizona’s Kathryn Surber (55.2464), Wheaton College’s Emmeli Gordon (55.1957) and Miami University’s Claire Obertin (54.3188).

For complete results, go to