OKLAHOMA CITY – For the first time since 2012, there is a new National Champion in the Men’s Super Slow Pitch division at the 2015 Slow Pitch Championship Series announced the Amateur Softball Association/USA Softball today. BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City stole the show Friday as they defeated Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton in a close 28-26 game.

Long Haul/ H. Auto/Easton made their presence known early as they jumped out to a big lead in the third inning. The explosive inning resulted in eleven runs, highlighted by a Kevin Filby grand slam. BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City’s confidence never wavered even though they gave up 11 home runs. From that point on, they only allowed five more runs the rest of the way and outscored Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton 16-5.  Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton came to the plate at the top of the seventh down one run. Brett Helmer’s leadoff home run tied the game at 26. Several clutch defensive plays from Jeremy Yates in left field preserved the tie entering the bottom of the seventh and gave BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City a chance to close out the game. The game ended with a walk-off two run shot from Greg Connell. Connell showed his strength all game, clubbing three home and racking up eight RBIs on six hits.

This marked the first time that BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City has won the ASA/USA Softball Men’s Super Slow Pitch National Championship. They went 4-0 en route to the Championship, as they outscored opponents 120-93.

“Our team has lot of good friends that came together from Florida to win it,” said Andrew Collins, who had three home runs in the Championship Game. “We love playing in tournaments like this so that we can play with different people. We had a goal and Mr. Doerr gave us this opportunity to represent his company. We came out and battled in a tough Championship game. We’re relentless and that’s what I love about this team.”

Click here for results, stats and more.

First Team All-Americans

IF- Chente Granados – West Coast Monsta/The Scene

IF- Orlando Castillo – BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City

IF- Brad Reckart – Longhaul/H. Auto/Easton

IF- Dennis Rulli – BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City

IF- Bubba Mack – ASPNation.com/A&A Utility/KV Weld

OF- Andrew Collins – BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City

OF- Jeremy Yates - BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City

OF- Ryan Parfitt – Long Haul/ H. Auto/Easton

OF- Mike Umschevo – Long Haul/ H. Auto/Easton

UT- Chris Larsen – Ts 13/ DeMarini

UT- Ryan Harvey – West Coast Monsta/The Scene

UT- Brett Helmer – Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton

UT- Greg Connell – BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City

UT- Dale Brungardt – Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton

P- Travis Clark – Long Haul/ H. Auto/Easton

Batting Champion – Andrew Collins .905 (BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City)

Home Run Champion – Andrew Collins (BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City) and Ryan Parfitt (Long Haul/H. Auto/Easton)

Tournament MVP – Andrew Collins (BBS/Mr. Ds/Rip City)