USA Softball News Jocelyn Alo named 20...

Jocelyn Alo named 2022 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year

May 31, 2022, 8:53 p.m. (ET)

OKLAHOMA CITY – USA Softball, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, revealed today that the University of Oklahoma’s Jocelyn Alo has been named the 2022 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year – tabbing her as the fifth athlete in history to earn back-to-back Player of the Year honors. Currently in its 20th season, the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is considered the most prestigious individual honor in Division I college softball and recognizes outstanding athletic achievement by Division I female softball players across the country.


Alo, the reigning USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, helped to lead the No. 1 seed Oklahoma Sooners to its sixth-straight NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS) appearance while leading the nation with a 1.163 slugging percentage and a .634 on-base percentage. With another record-breaking year, Alo became the NCAA Division I softball all-time career home run leader during the 2022 season after hitting her career 96th home run in her home state of Hawaii in early March.


Earning her second-straight Big 12 Player of the Year honor and fourth All-Big 12 First Team and NFCA All-Region accolades, Alo enters the 2022 NCAA WCWS with 117 career home runs – 29 of which came during the 2022 season. In addition to tallying 11 doubles, 72 RBIs and 49 walks, the fifth-year senior had five multi-home run games on the year including one game with three balls leaving the park. Throughout the 2022 NCAA postseason, Alo has homered in four of Oklahoma’s five postseason games – and six of OU’s last eight games – while racking up 10 RBIs with a .750 on-base percentage and zero strikeouts.


Along with Alo, Top 3 Finalists for the 2022 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year included South Florida’s 2022 AAC Pitcher of the Year, Georgina Corrick, and 2022 Pac-12 Player of the Year, Baylee Klingler, from Washington.


Previous recipients of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award include Stacey Nuveman (UCLA - 2022), Cat Osterman (2003, 2005, 2006 - Texas), Jessica Van der Linden (Florida State - 2004), Monica Abbott (2007 - Tennessee), Angela Tincher (2008 - Virginia Tech), Danielle Lawrie (2009, 2010 - Washington), Ashley Hansen (Stanford – 2011), Keilani Ricketts (2012, 2013 – Oklahoma), Lacey Waldrop (2014 – Florida State), Lauren Haeger (2015 – Florida), Sierra Romero (2016 – Michigan), Kelly Barnhill (2017 – Florida), Rachel Garcia (2018, 2019 – UCLA) and Jocelyn Alo (2021 – Oklahoma). Due to the shortened 2020 season because of the COVID-19 global pandemic, a 2020 recipient was not chosen.


The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year is voted on by coaching representatives of 10 Division I Conferences in the 10 USA Softball Regions, members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball across the country as well as past winners of the award.