USA Softball News USA Softball conclud...

USA Softball concludes 90th Annual Council Meeting in Oklahoma City with new leadership looking ahead of 2022 season

Oct. 28, 2021, 11:06 a.m. (ET)

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. –– USA Softball, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, concluded its 90th Annual Council Meeting with Joe Patterson (Hastings, Neb./USA Softball of Nebraska Commissioner) stepping into office as the President of USA Softball following Rodney Cobb’s (San Marcos, Texas/USA Softball of Texas Commissioner) two-year tenure. The President-Elect position was also announced as Dave Devine (Irving, Texas/USA Softball of Dallas/Ft. Worth Commissioner) was elected by the USA Softball Council.


"I'm excited and anxious to work with CEO Craig Cress, the National Office staff, and the USA Softball Board of Directors in moving USA Softball forward in a post pandemic environment,” said Patterson. “Like all membership organizations, USA Softball has challenges ahead to overcome. I want to see more youth involved at the local decision-making positions moving forward. As I begin my term as USA Softball President, I am aware that our members and their wants are changing and we must change to continue accommodating to their needs."


In addition to the change in leadership, USA Softball evaluated proposed code and rule changes for all divisions of USA Softball, announced 2023 National Championship locations and reappointed Regional Vice-Presidents to the Board of Directors. Other highlights at the 2021 USA Softball Annual Council Meeting included the 40th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, the announcement of the 2022 Hall of Fame Class and the Wilson Awards Luncheon.


To read more about the Class of 2020 inductees who were honored at the National Softball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, visit To read more about the USA Softball Council Members who were honored at the Wilson Awards Luncheon for their dedicated years of service and excellence in hosting 2021 National Championships, visit


2023 National Championships Awarded

USA Softball Council Members awarded 2023 USA Softball National Championships for all divisions of play within USA Softball’s grassroots programs, including the below Girls’ Class A Fast Pitch National Championship Finals.


USA Softball Girls’ 10-Under Class A Eastern Fast Pitch – Columbus, Ga.

USA Softball Girls’ 10-Under Class A Western Fast Pitch – North Mankato, Minn.

USA Softball Girls’ 12-Under Class A Fast Pitch – North Mankato, Minn.

USA Softball Girls’ 14-Under Class A Fast Pitch – Salt Lake City, Utah

USA Softball Girls’ 16-Under Class A Fast Pitch – Salem, Va.

USA Softball Girls’ 18-Under Class A Fast Pitch – Johnson City, Tenn.


The awarding of USA Softball National Championships is considered one of the most anticipated decisions made by the council as each National Championship has the potential to have thousands of dollars in economic impact for the host city. With the announcement of the 2023 National Championships hosts, teams across the globe can begin their quest for the ultimate goal in softball: to be named a USA Softball National Champion. Click here to view a list of 2023 USA Softball National Championships


USA Softball Re-Elected Regional Vice President

During the week, all 10 Regional Vice Presidents were reappointed to the USA Softball Board of Directors (BOD). Representing the 10 USA Softball Regions across the globe are:


Beverly Wiley (USA Softball of Rhode Island Commissioner) – Northeast Region

John McPhail (USA Softball of Central Virginia Commissioner) – Central Atlantic Region

James Ellis (USA Softball of Tennessee Commissioner) – Southeast Region

Walker Clark (USA Softball of Arkansas Commissioner) – South Region

Drew Wells (USA Softball of Texas At-Large Player Rep) – Southwest Region

Darrin Duistermars (USA Softball of Michigan Commissioner) – Midwest Region

Mary Mahoney (USA Softball of Kansas City Commissioner) – Mid America Region

Dick Gulmon (USA Softball of North Dakota Commissioner) ­– Northern Region

Roger Garcia (USA Softball of Alaska Commissioner) – Northwest Mountain Region

Anna Louie (USA Softball of San Francisco Commissioner) – Pacific Coast Region


2022 National Softball Hall of Fame Class

Announced during the 90th Annual Meeting, the National Softball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 inductees include: Brett Helmer (Slow Pitch Player), Christan Dowling (Slow Pitch Player), Rusty Bumgardner (Slow Pitch Player), Cat Osterman (Fast Pitch Player), Debbie Doom (Fast Pitch Player), George Nokes (Fast Pitch Player), Jeff Peck (Fast Pitch Player), Steve Shortland (Manager/Coach), Jeff Hansen (Umpire), Mike De Leo (Meritorious Service) and Al Savala (Sponsor).


USA Softball would like to thank the sponsors of the 2021 USA Softball Annual Meeting: USA Softball of Southern California, Wilson Sporting Goods, City of Oklahoma City, Johnson City/Play Tennessee, USA Softball of Texas, USA Softball of Dallas/Ft. Worth, Champro, Lee County, Fla., St. PETE/Clearwater, Shreveport, Lee County Sports Development, Bollinger Sports & Leisure, and Visit Central Florida


The 2022 USA Softball Annual Meeting will head to Shreveport, La. November 12-16.