USA Softball News Comatose/S2N/Monsta ...

Comatose/S2N/Monsta takes home Men's Class B Slow Pitch National Championship title

Sept. 07, 2020, 1:41 p.m. (ET)

OKLAHOMA CITY – Comatose/S2N/Monsta closed out Labor Day weekend at USA Softball Hall of Fame Complex by taking home the 2020 USA Softball Men’s Class B Slow Pitch National Championship trophy. Comatose claimed a 22-12 victory over Tharaldson Softball on Championship Day and finished the tournament undefeated with a 5-0 record.


Tharaldson didn’t waste any time getting on the scoreboard, jumping out to a 5-0 lead as Kye Winter and Jay Hartman each went yard while Chris Munch collected a RBI single. Comatose’s Jacob Stadler, Damon Wegner and Matt Stefanski each homered in the bottom half of the frame to give the home squad a 6-5 lead.


Both teams shut down their opponent in the second inning, with Tharaldson turning a double play to strand two Comatose runners on base. Returning to the plate, a two-run home run by Munch gave Tharaldson a one-run lead before David Bobbitt drove in another run. Comatose posted a six-run third inning for a 12-8 lead, with Zack Wegner sending a two-run shot out of the park. 


Tharaldson didn’t let up, pushing across two runs in the fourth and fifth innings while keeping Comatose off the board to tie the ballgame at 12-12 after five innings of play. After a 1-2-3 inning from the Comatose defense, the offense came alive with two outs in the bottom of the sixth inning and scored 10 runs. Highlighted by grand slam shots from Damon Wegner and Robert Guzman, Stefanski and Jacobson also drove home a pair of runs to put Comatose ahead, 22-12, which turned out to be all Comatose needed to secure the National Championship title.


En route to the Championship Game, Tharaldson posted a 25-5 win over Ductech/Monsta Athletics and a 14-11 victory over Program/Worth/JTLLC/3xtreme earlier in the day. Mike Jacobson took home the tournament MVP award, while Chris Olson was named the Batting Champion and Kye Winter the Home Run Champion.


2020 Men’s Class B Slow Pitch National Championship All-Americans

Ben Barrone – Ductech/Monsta Athletics

Ryan Brosnan – Program/Worth/JTLLC/3xtreme

Chris Munch – Tharaldson Softball

Jay Hartman – Tharaldson Softball

Mitch Mclain – Tharaldson Softball

Brett Zomer – Tharaldson Softball

Corey Volden – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Alex Abraham – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Tony Raffel – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Chris Olson – Ductech/Monsta Athletics

Mike Jacobson – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Robert Guzman – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Eli Christenson – Program/Worth/JTLLC/3xtreme

Ned Adair – Program/Worth/JTLLC/3xtreme

Jacob Stadler – Comatose/S2N/Monsta


Men’s Class B SP National Championship MVP: Mike Jacobson – Comatose/S2N/Monsta

Men’s Class B SP National Championship Batting Champion: Chris Olson – Ductech/Monsta Athletics

Men’s Class B SP National Championship HR Champion: Kye Winter – Tharaldson Softball