Champion crowned at Men’s C Slow Pitch National Championship

By Katie Willis ( | Sept. 04, 2018, 5:10 p.m. (ET)

OKLAHOMA CITY – Another USA Softball National Champion was crowned at the Prairie Island Complex this past weekend as Dirt Dogs/FYZICAL/Davidson/DPC claimed the 2018 USA Softball Men’s Class C Slow Pitch National Championship title.

Click here to view the order of finish and bracket results from the Men’s Class C Slow Pitch National Championship

For the Dirt Dogs, the road to the winner’s circle was a challenge but nothing the team could not overcome. Kicking off the tournament with four wins, the team took a 16-9 loss against Dynasty to drop down to the loser’s bracket. A pair of wins set up a rematch with Dynasty where Dirt Dogs claimed the 22-12 win and advanced to the Championship Game against B.O.T./TNT.

Despite B.O.T./TNT recording a perfect 6-0 record to advance to the Championship finale, it was Dirt Dogs who emerged as the Men’s Class C Slow Pitch National Champions. Forcing the if-necessary game following a 13-11 win over their opponent, momentum stayed with the Dirt Dogs who took home the trophy after posting a 20-17 win. B.O.T./TNT recorded six-straight wins and outscored their opponents 117-36 en route to the Championship Game, where they succumbed to the Dirt Dogs, who outscored their opponents 171-108.

Men’s Class C Slow Pitch First Team All-Americans

Mark Blazeiewske, Shenanigan's

Kenny Mendoza, Culture Athletics

Chuck Shimels, Culture Athletics

Scott Flanigan, Dynasty

Bryce Schweitzer, Dynasty

TJ Stuart, Dynasty

Eric Christensen, Dirt Dogs

Steve Connors, Dirt Dogs

Zak Sokolis, Dirt Dogs

Keith Sobkowiak, Dirt Dogs

Mike Verbasco, Dirt Dogs

Bryan Bennett, B.O.T./TNT

Rich Wright, B.O.T./TNT

Woodrow Darling, B.O.T./TNT

Kenny Donelson, B.O.T./TNT


Batting Champion: Eric Geehan, Showbombs (.824)

Homerun Champion: Andrew Schorr, Russell's Paint (8)

Homerun Champion: Chad Erickson, Culture Athletics (8)

Homerun Champion: TJ Stuart, Dynasty (8)

MVP: Derek Drag, Dirt Dogs


For more information on 2018 National Champions or to locate 2018 National Championship locations, please visit


About USA Softball

USA Softball is a 501(c)(3) not-for profit organization headquartered in Oklahoma City, Okla., and is designated as the National Governing Body (NGB) of Softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. One of the nation’s largest sports organizations, USA Softball sanctions competition in every state through a network of 69 local associations and has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 150,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than 2 million.  USA Softball is dedicated to providing people of all ages the opportunity to play the game they love at a variety of levels by offering recreational, league, tournament and competitive play for fast pitch, slow pitch and modified pitch.  USA Softball annually conducts thousands of tournaments throughout the country including over 100 National Championships.  The USA Softball umpire program is among the nation’s largest and are widely known as the best trained umpires in the game. 


As the NGB for the sport of softball, USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting the six USA Softball National Teams that compete in events such as the Olympics, Pan American Games, World Championships and other international and domestic events. For more information on USA Softball, including its founding and history as the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), please visit,