2018 NCAA Division I Softball Championship field announced

May 14, 2018, 10:22 a.m. (ET)

Press release courtesy of NCAA

INDIANAPOLIS—The University of Oregon earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Ducks will host Albany (NY) an automatic qualifier from the America East Conference.


Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites beginning this Thursday.


Team pairings were determined by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition.


The Southeastern Conference led all leagues with 13 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Pac-12 Conference placed seven teams in the championship tournament. Four teams are making their first appearance in the tournament: Boise State University, Kennesaw State University, Monmouth University, and Prairie View A&M University.          

For the complete release, visitwww.ncaa.com.


The media credential application for the 2018 Women’s College World Series is available onwww.ncaa.com/media.