May 2018 Plays and Clarifications
Plays and Clarifications
Play: With no outs and R1 on 3B, B2 hit’s a hard shot to right center field. F8 throws their glove and nicks the ball as B2 is approaching 1B. B2 continues to 3B where the throw is wild and gets away from F5. B2 rounds 3B and continues home, F6, backing up the play, picks up the ball and throws B2 out at home plate. The umpires calls dead ball and puts B2 back on 3B due to a three base award for throwing the glove and contacting the ball.
Ruling: The ruling is incorrect. When F8 threw their glove and hit the ball the umpire should give the delayed dead ball signal. If the runner has reached the three bases awarded they are allowed to continue to another base with liability to be put out. Rule 8, Section 5F Effect
Play: With no outs and R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, and R3 on 1B, B4 hits a hard one-hopper back to F1 who immediately throws to F2 for a force play out on R1 advancing from 3B. F2 then attempts to retire B4 at 1B. B4 runs the entire way to 1B in fair territory and in a) is hit by the throw from F2 to F3 and in b) B4 swipes at F3’s glove dislodging the ball as F3 is trying to tag B4. In both a) and b) the plate umpire judges that this is an attempt to prevent a double play by interference by the batter-runner quoting Rule 8 Section 2F.
Ruling: Even though the offensive player is still a batter-runner the definition of interference applies the same for a batter-runner as it does for a runner. Therefore R1 is out on a force play at home plate. In a) B4 is hit with the ball while running outside the 3 foot running lane, the ball is dead and B4 is out for interference and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference, Rule 8, Section 2E. In b) B4 is out of the running lane and swipes the glove to knock the ball out of F3’s glove during a tag. The ball is dead, the Batter-runner is out for interference and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference, Rule 8, Section 2E.as well as Rule 8, Section 7J. The result of this play would be two outs but the actions of the Batter Runner in both a) or b) would not constitute applying the provision of an attempt to prevent a double play to get a third out.
Play: B1 hits a slow roller between F1 and F3. F1 kicks the ball to F3 who grabs it, dives and touches 1B with their glove while the ball is in their bare hand before B1 reaches the base.
Ruling: B1 is out. F1 kicking the ball has no bearing on the call. Rule 1 Definition of a Play and Rule 8, Section 2A
Play: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B with one out. B4 hits the ball about 20 feet into the air in the infield between F5, F6 and F1. The umpire declares infield fly as F6 makes an effort to catch the ball but was unable to do so. B4 reaches base safely and R1 who left base on the batted ball, continued to home plate to score. The defense appeals that R1 left too soon as they needed to wait for the ball to be touched or hit the ground before the base runners could leave their base without liability to be put out. The offense appeal that B4 should be allowed to stay at 1B since F6 was unable to catch the fly ball.
Ruling: B4 would remain out due to the Infield Fly Rule. If the umpire judged the ball was catchable with normal effort the fact that F6 was unable to catch it does not matter. R1 would be declared safe on appeal. An infield fly is like any other fly ball in that the runner can leave at any time. If the runners leave before the ball is first touched by a defensive player they can be called out on appeal only if the ball is caught. If they leave before the ball is touched or the ball hits the ground they do so with liability to be put out. Rule 8, Section 2I Rule 8, Section 4D and Rule 8, Section 7B.
Obstruction / Interference:
Attached are three links to videos discussing the topic of obstruction and interference, You Make the Call.