T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta crowned 2017 USA Softball Men’s C Slow Pitch National Champions after 22-12 victory over Army Black

Sept. 03, 2017, 6:18 p.m. (ET)

OKLAHOMA CITY — Competition came to a close at the USA Softball Hall of Fame Complex as T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta took home the title of 2017 USA Softball Men’s C Slow Pitch National Champion on Sunday, USA Softball announced today. After dropping a 25-7 decision Saturday night to Army Black, T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta claimed a narrow 19-18 victory over Tryon Nation/Peper Farms Trucking in the semifinal game to set up a rematch against Army Black in the Championship Game, where they defeated Army Black, 16-6, to force an “if-game” and lead them to claiming the final 22-12 victory.

Click here to view final results, scores and more from the 2017 USA Softball Men’s C Slow Pitch National Championship

In the Championship Game, T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta and Army Black traded the lead back-and-forth in the first two innings. Amy Black took an early lead following a two-out three-run blast from Chad Agustin, while T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta responded by posting four runs of their own after two two-run home runs by Derek Nordquist and Clinton Brewer. Despite a solo shot by Jedon Matthews and a RBI double by Jordan Baker of Army Black, T’13/Omaha/Monsta responded by taking the lead for good following RBI singles from John Ecabert and Austin Chambers, while a two RBI double from Nordquist capped off the inning to make it a 8-5 lead. T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta kept Army Black from scoring in the top of the third inning, while they posted their third-straight four-run inning to extend their lead, 12-5. Army Black led off the top of the fourth frame with a solo shot past the center field fence to make it 12-6, but would be shut down from scoring additional runs throughout the rest of the game, with T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta forcing the “if-game” game.

Both teams would be kept off the scoreboard through the first frame of the “if-game”, but it wouldn’t last long as T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta struck first in the top of the second inning after plating four runners. TJ McCauley led off with a solo shot over the center field fence to get things started, while a two-run home run from Steven Cox and RBI double from Ecabert put T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta ahead, 4-0. While T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta added to their lead by two runs in the top of the third, the bats came alive for Army Black as they went on to plate 10 runs following a RBI double from LaQuan Gilliard, three-run home run from Clayton Shaw, grand slam by Matthews, and two RBI double from Baker. Trailing 10-6, T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta responded by posting back-to-back two-run innings to make it a 10-10 tie ballgame, while a two-run shot by Rashad Shelton put Army Black in the lead once again after five innings. T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta headed back to the plate, only this time securing the lead and ultimately the victory after plating twelve runs to take home the Men’s C Slow Pitch National Championship title.

Participating teams in the Men’s C Slow Pitch National Championship tournament included 3X Gear/The Box, All American Athletics, All Star Plumbing/Monsta, Army Black, Army Gold, Bash Inc, Blackies, Bud/DeMarini/CA, Cedar Rapids Mulisha, Cowboy Jacks/Krown Apparel, CP/Sewer Septic Pros, D&M Construction, Dakota Bus, Demars Softball, Elite Sports, Fanatics Sports Bar/Roofing Plus, Kass & Co, Keyguys.com/CA Gear/Mikes Hard Lemonade/IT QA LLC, Mayhem/Clam/Thorne Brothers, Medcity Express, Monsta Athletics, Next Level/J&J Sports, Pipac/PIA/Miken, Precision Lining & Sewer/Hodgman Drainage/OA Apparel, Prospects, Ralphies Café/Claddagh Pub/Terris Place, Rapid Fire/DNI Sports, Russell’s Paint and Body, Silent Ducks, Silverbacks, State Farm, Team Elite/Spiderz/Ho-Chunk Gaming, TPC/Boompas Burgers, Tyron Nation/Peper Farms Trucking, Ts 13/Omaha/Monsta, and Weichert Realtors.

For more information on the adult slow pitch program, visit USASoftball.com.

First Team All-Americans

Clinton Brewer – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

Jesse Reeves – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

Adam Smith – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

Steve Cox – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

TJ McCauley – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

Thomas Fuss – Army Black

Jedon Matthews – Army Black

Jordan Baker – Army Black

Richard Westmooreland – Army Black

Zane Froehlich – Tryon Nation/Peper Farms Trucking

Jeremy Vanroekel – Tryon Nation/Peper Farms Trucking

Cody Olson – Bud/DeMarini/CA

James Kauffman – Bud/DeMarini/CA

Dustin Hunter – Pipac/PIA/Miken

Chad McCarty – Elite Sports

Batting Champion – Chris Nann – Rapid Fire/DNI Sports (.857)

Home Run Champion – Clinton Brewer – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

Tournament MVP – Clinton Brewer – T’s 13/Omaha/Monsta

About USA Softball
USA Softball is a 501(c)(3) not-for profit organization headquartered in Oklahoma City, Okla., and is designated as the National Governing Body (NGB) of Softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. One of the nation’s largest sports organizations, USA Softball sanctions competition in every state through a network of 70 local associations and has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 150,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than 2 million.  USA Softball is dedicated to providing people of all ages the opportunity to play the game they love at a variety of levels by offering recreational, league, tournament and competitive play for fast pitch, slow pitch and modified pitch.  USA Softball annually conducts thousands of tournaments throughout the country including over 100 National Championships.  The USA Softball umpire program is among the nation’s largest and are widely known as the best trained umpires in the game.

As the NGB for the sport of softball, USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting the six USA Softball National Teams that compete in events such as the Olympics, Pan American Games, World Championships and other international and domestic events. For more information on USA Softball, including its founding and history as the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), please visit, www.USASoftball.com.