July Plays and Clarifications

July 28, 2017, 12:40 p.m. (ET)

July 2017 Plays and Clarifications

Fast Pitch Camp

The 2016 Fast Pitch Camp was held in Cummings Georgia and hosted by USA Softball of Georgia with 41 students were in attendance. Jim Craig, Dave Chandler, Jimmy Derrick, Steve Nelson, Chris Drumm and Randy Sprouse were instructors and gave the students more than they expected. Rick Hearn from USA softball of Georgia and his team did an excellent job lending to the camps success. Even though the number of students dropped from 54 to 41 on the last day before the camp the instructors adapted to give all the students a quality experience.

Next year's camp will be hosted by Region 10, in California with the final location to be disclosed shortly. Congratulations to USA Softball of Georgia and the instructor staff for holding another successful school.

National Umpire Schools

Our National Umpire Schools locations are set for 2018. We will hold six schools across our 10 Regions. We are in the process of gathering the exact location and contact information for each school. Once we have that information it will be posted on the USA Softball website. Hosting schools in 2018 will be Region one in Rochester New York, Region three in Jacksonville Florida, Region five in Oklahoma City Oklahoma, Region six in Bowling Green Kentucky, Region nine in Coeur d' Alene Idaho and Region 10 in Las Vegas Nevada. More information will be forthcoming once available. We hope to have all this information gathered by 1 September timeframe so we can let everyone know exactly where our schools will be held

Plays and Clarifications

The following Plays and Clarifications are plays provided by the students of the Fast Pitch Camp  during the session of creating case plays. They were required to come up with a case play, provide a ruling, diagram the umpire movement and explain their reasoning to the rest of the group. It is obvious that they put a lot of thought into these plays and we decided to share them with all of you. The plays were as follows:

Play: There are no outs and R1 is on 1B. R1 is stealing on the pitch when B2 hits the ball to F5 who throws B2 out at 1B. R1 continues toward 3B where they are obstructed by F6. The obstruction enables F5 to start a rundown with F6 on R1. As F6 is running R1 toward 3B, F6 throws to F5 and R1 intentionally knocks the ball away from F5 attempting to catch the throw.  The umpire rules that the ball remained live until the play was made on R1, and at that time the play would be called dead and the award for obstruction would be made.

Ruling: Incorrect. The play would be allowed to continue to the point that R1 interfered with the throw from F6.  The play would be called dead at that point with R1 called out, and B2 placed at the last base touched at the time of R1 creating interference. Rule 8, Section 5B1 “An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed” Exception B “an act of interference”. Effect: “The obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where obstructed and may be put out”.

Play: R1 is on 3B and R2 is on 1B, there is one out and B4 has a count of 0-1. The pitcher commits an illegal pitch and completes the pitch with B4 hitting a ground ball to F5. F5 catches the ball, looks at R1 and then throws across to 1B where B4 is ruled safe. R2 reaches 2B but R1 stays at 3B.  The umpires rules that the illegal pitch is nullified and the play stands.

Ruling: Incorrect.  The penalty for the illegal pitch will remain in effect, until the batter and all runners have advanced one base or the offensive manager has elected to take the result of the play. The correct procedure for this play would be for the plate umpire, after the play at first base and after any other plays are completed, call time out.  The plate umpire would then offer the offensive manager the choice of the result of the play (bases loaded, with 0 out) or the penalty (R1 scores, R2 advances to 2B and B4 assumes a 1-1 count). Rule 6A, Section 1E, Effect [A-E] 1&2.

Play: The DP, batting in the fourth batting position, hits a double in the 2nd inning and is replaced as a runner by the Flex.  In the 4th inning with one out, the starting DP returns unreported hits a double and is replaced again as a runner by the Flex who is properly reported. When the Flex reaches 2B the defensive manager brings the unannounced substitute to the attention of the plate umpire. The plate umpire rules the DP is out for being an unreported substitute, and the flex returned to the dugout.

Ruling: This is an incorrect ruling. There is no violation on the DP.  This is because the Flex is now officially in the game when reported to the Plate Umpire. (Rule 4, Section 6B).  The DP was in the game … Unreported … after the first pitch to them, but is not in the game at the time of the Protest.  As a result, the original DP has no more reentries and is done for the game. This is also discussed in R/S #51.

Play: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B, 1 out and B4 walks and reaches first base.  With all runners on their respective bases the pitcher removes the glove with the ball in it and places the glove under the arm to enable straightening of the visor and hair. R1 leaves 3B and attempts to score.  The umpire rules a dead ball and R1 out on a violation of the look back rule.

Ruling: Incorrect. Similar to a catch, the pitcher must maintain control of the ball for the look back rule to be in effect, and the ball under a body part does not represent control.  Rule 8, Section 7T -3 “The pitcher has possession and control of the ball within the pitcher’s circle, “The removal of the glove and ball from the hand of the pitcher and placed under the arm removes the  control of the ball by the pitcher,  and thus makes the Look Back Rule no longer in effect. Rule 8, Section 7T, Exception 2.

Play: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B and one out. B4 gets a base hit to the outfield. R1 scores, R2 is assisted by the third base coach rounding third base attempting to score. The throw from F7 to the plate eludes F2 and is picked up by the on deck batter and given to the catcher.  Umpire rules interference on the on deck batter for the third out.

Ruling: Correct, if in the judgment of the umpire F2 would have had a play on B4 had the on deck batter not picked up the ball.  The ball would be dead regardless at the point the on deck batter picked up the ball.  If, in the umpire’s judgment there would not have been a play on B4, they are left on the last base touched at the time of the on deck batter’s action. Rule 7, Section 1D & Section 1D Effect. When the third base coach assisted R2, R2 is called out and the ball remains live for further play.

Play: R1 on 3B and R2 on 1B with one out.  B5 is batting but it is B4’s turn at bat.  B5 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to 2B to retire R2, and B5 is safe at 1B. The defensive manager appeals that B5 batted out of turn.  Umpire rules that B4 is called out for not batting in order and R1’s run is nullified since B4 is the third out of the inning.

Ruling:  Correct. By Rule 7, Section 2D -2 and its EFFECT. B5’s turn at bat is negated. B4 is called out, and since that is the third out the inning is over. Had that only made two outs, R1 would have returned to 3B and B5 would be the correct batter. Runs scoring on appeal plays are timing plays, unless there are other rules in place that takes the timing of the play out of consideration, and that was the case here with the rule negating the at bat.

 July Plays and Clarifications (Word)

 July Plays and Clarifications (PDF)