USA Softball News Athletes head to Chu...

Athletes head to Chula Vista for USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team tryouts

June 08, 2010, 10:31 a.m. (ET)

More than 40 athletes will try out for the 2010-11 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team June 10-12 at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. The Selection Camp opens Thursday evening with a meeting followed by drills and four scrimmages Friday and an additional four games Saturday.
The athletes trying out are age 18 and under and represent 13 states: Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas and Utah. Most have at least verbally committed to play collegiate softball at Division I institutions including Alabama, Arizona, Arizona State, BYU, Florida, Michigan, Oklahoma, Tennessee, UCLA and Washington, all teams that participated in at least the NCAA Super Regional Championships during the 2010 season.
The 17 players selected for the 2010 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team will be announced on June 15. The team will compete later this year at the III Pan American Softball Championship (18-and-under), August 6-15, in Bogota, Colombia. The event serves as a qualifier for the International Softball Federation (ISF) IX Jr. Women's World Championship (19-and-under), December 6-17, 2011, in Cape Town, South Africa.
Karen Johns (Starkville, Miss./asst. coach Mississippi State) will lead the Junior Women's Team in Colombia as Head Coach. Suzy Brazney (Huntington Beach, Calif./head coach Golden West College), Stacy Iveson (Prescott, Ariz./head coach Yavapai College) and Pat Murphy (Northport, Ala./head coach Alabama) will join Johns on staff.
Athletes who are attending the selection camp:
Marisa Bast (Orange, Calif./So Cal Explosion 18-Under Gold)
Bianka Bell (Brandon, Fla./Florida Tampa Mustangs Bell)
Nancy Bowling (Simi Valley, Calif./Orange County Batbusters 18-Under Gold)
Ally Carda (Elk Grove, Calif./California Lady Magic)
Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers 18-Under Gold)
Erica Cipolloni (Philadelphia, Pa./New Jersey Breakers)
Cheyenne Cordes (Fairfield, Calif./California Lady Magic)
Cheyenne Coyle (West Hills, Calif./ Orange County Batbusters 18-Under Gold)
Jessica Damico (Gray Summit, Mo./St. Louis Chaos)
Shelby Davis (Goddard, Kan./Kansas Mustangs)
Hailey Decker (Keizer, Ore./Oregon Northwest Bullets Gold)
D’anna Marie Devine (Morrisvile, Pa./Newtown Rock Gold)
Taylor Dewbery (McAlester, Okla./Oklahoma Diamond Girls)
Taylor Edwards (Murrieta, Calif./California Corona Angels)
Dallas Escobedo (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona Hotshots Gold)
Amber Freeman (Lakewood, Calif./Corona Angels 18-Under Gold-Tyson)
Erin Gabriel (Poland, Ohio/Valley Extreme Blue)
Chelsea Goodacre (Temecula, Calif./California Fury)
Lauren Haeger (Peoria, Ariz./ Arizona Hotshots Gold)
Meghan Harman (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./California Raiders)
Andrea Hawkins (Bay City, Texas/Texas Impact 18-Under Gold)
Kaitlin Inglesby (Portland, Ore./Oregon Northwest Blaze)
Breana Kostreba (Aptos, Calif./California Sorcerer 18-Under Gold-Phil)
Kylee Lahners (Laguna Hills, Calif./ California Worth Firecrackers 18-Under Gold)
Samantha Lenahan (Lawrenceville, Ga./Georgia Elite 18-Under Gold)
Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif./ Corona Angels 18-Under Gold-Tyson)
Alexis “Mo” Mercado (Temecula, Calif./So Cal Athletics 18-Under Gold)
Shelby Pendley (Albuquerque, N.M./New Mexico Sundancers)
Jessica Plaza (Huntington Beach, Calif./California Cruisers)
Sierra Rodriguez (Chandler, Ariz./Killer Bees 18-Under Gold)
Sierra Romero (Murrieta, Calif./Orange County Batbusters 18-Under Gold)
Kourtney Salvarola (Arnold, Md./Wagners)
Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif./So Cal Choppers)
Delaney Lyn Spaulding (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif./Orange County Batbusters 16-Under– Meyers)
Mckenzie St. Clair (Highland, Utah/Salt Lake Flames)
Kelsey Stewart (Arkansas City, Kan./Wichita Mustangs)
Cheyanne Tarango (Anaheim Hills, Calif./ California Worth Firecrackers 18-Under Gold)
Darian Noa Tautalafua (Carson, Calif./ Orange County Batbusters 16-Under– Meyers)
Nyree White (Eugene, Ore./ California Worth Firecrackers 18-Under Gold)
Hallie Wilson (North Tustin, Calif./ California Worth Firecrackers 18-Under Gold)
Chelsea Zgrabik (Nokomis, Fla./Florida Tropic Wave-Morgan)
Courtney Ziese (Canyon Country, Calif./California Choppers)
The 42 participants were selected by the USA Softball Women’s National Team Selection Committee from the USA Softball Junior National Team player pool. The player pool is made up of athletes that have been identified by WNTSC as an elite softball player in the appropriate age group. Athletes that are identified come from observations at the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) Junior National Tournaments, recommendations from college coaches, high school coaches and ASA Junior Olympic (JO) Coaches.
To be eligible for selection to the 2010 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team, athletes had to meet the ISF age requirements for the 18-Under event in Colombia and the 19-Under event in South Africa by having been born January 1, 1992, or later.
For media access to the Olympic Training Center, journalists are asked to contact ASA/USA Softball Marketing and Communications Coordinator Jamie Blanchard at prior to the Selection Camp. Credentials are required.