Top 25 Finalists for the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year announced

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the Top 25 Finalists for the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which will be announced at the opening of the 2012 NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS) in Oklahoma City. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Among the selected 25 student-athletes is Ashley Hansen, the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, as well as Katelyn Boyd and Chelsea Thomas, who were the other two finalists for last year’s award.

Now in its 11th year , previous recipients of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman (2003, 2005 and 2006), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden (2004), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott (2007), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher (2008), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009 and 2010) and Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen (2011).

This year’s Top 25 is comprised of 12 seniors, seven juniors, five sophomores, and one freshman. The student-athletes selected represent 17 NCAA Division I universities and eight athletic conferences. While California and Oklahoma lead the way among universities with three athlete representatives each, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee and Washington each have two members among the Top 25 Finalists.

Just before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be announced on May 9. The three finalists will be announced May 23, while the winner of the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be revealed on May 29 prior to the start of the NCAA WCWS in Oklahoma City.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball across the country.

2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 25 Finalists 

Name (School) – Year – Position – Hometown

Valerie Arioto (California) – Senior – Utility – Pleasanton, Calif.

Lexy Bennett (Texas) – Senior – Infield – Kingwood, Texas

Katelyn Boyd (Arizona State) – Senior – Shortstop – Phoenix, Ariz.

Kayla Braud (Alabama) – Junior – Outfield – Eugene, Ore.

*Lauren Chamberlain (Oklahoma) – Freshman – Infield – Trabuco Canyon, Calif.

Raven Chavanne (Tennessee) – Junior – Third base/Outfield – Thousand Oaks, Calif.

*Rachele Fico (LSU) – Junior – Pitcher – Oxford, Conn.

Ashley Hansen (Stanford) – Senior – Infield – Chandler, Ariz.

Jolene Henderson (California) – Junior – Pitcher/First base – Elk Grove, Calif.

*Kaitlin Inglesby (Washington) – Sophomore – Pitcher/First Base – Portland, Ore.

Ashley McClain (FIU) – Senior – Outfield/Pitcher – Brandon, Fla.

Michelle Moultrie (Florida) – Senior – Center field – Jacksonville, Fla.

*Sara Nevins (South Florida) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Pinellas Park, Fla.

Christi Orgeron (ULL) – Senior – Outfield – New Orleans, La.

Sara Plourde (UMass) – Senior – Pitcher – Bristol, Conn.

Kimi Pohlman (Washington) – Senior – Outfield – Sammamish, Wash.

Jamia Reid (California) – Senior – Outfield – Buena Park, Calif.

Ellen Renfroe (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Jackson, Tenn.

Keilani Ricketts (Oklahoma) – Junior – Pitcher – San Jose, Calif.

Hannah Rogers (Florida) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Lake Wales, Fla.

*Jordan Rutkowski (Valparaiso) – Senior – Catcher/Outfield – Alden, N.Y.

Jessica Shults (Oklahoma) – Junior – Catcher – Valencia, Calif.

Chelsea Thomas (Missouri) – Redshirt Junior – Pitcher – Pleasantville, Iowa

Jackie Traina (Alabama) – Sophomore – Pitcher/Designated player – Naples, Fla.

*Delaney Willard (BYU) – Senior – Outfield – Camarillo, Calif.

*was not on the Top 50 "Watch List"

In addition to bestowing the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, ASA/USA Softball is now in its 10th season of presenting the Softball Collegiate Top 25 Poll and the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Week, which are announced Tuesdays during the regular season.

About ASA 
The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation’s largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 76 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 200,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit

About USA Softball 
USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won nine World Championship titles including the last seven consecutive as well as claimed five World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit