USA Racquetball News 2020 USA Racquetball...

2020 USA Racquetball Board of Directors Election Results

April 03, 2020, 4:15 p.m. (ET)

The USA Racquetball Election Committee, chaired by Terry Rogers, announced today the results of the Board of Directors election that concluded on March 31. The separately administrated election for Athlete Representatives who will serve on the Board of Directors through 2024 concluded on March 31 as well.



Newly elected members Mike Grisz and JD Shelton will join current Board member Cindy Tilbury who has been re-elected for her second three-year term.


Three seats were available in this election cycle, and the communication process began August 1, 2019, with announcements on the USA Racquetball website and Facebook and via email to members outlining the process, requirements, and deadlines. The Election Committee was pleased to have eight qualified candidates submit applications for Board service, which led to the difficult process of selecting a slate of between three and six candidates that was subject to Board final approval. General membership voting commenced March 1, 2020, and concluded March 31, 2020.  Mike, JD, and Cindy will be installed as Board members at the upcoming Annual Board of Directors Meeting.


In their statements of interest, each articulated their decisions to throw their hats into the ring: 

“I see on a daily basis the struggles that grass roots supporters of racquetball face, and want to help even more on a national level.  Joining the USAR Board would allow me that opportunity.  In addition, I believe it is beneficial to have representation from other racquetball organizations (such as the IRT) on the USAR Board to ensure that we are all working together to promote the sport and reach our goal of growing racquetball.”

-- Mike Grisz

“I want to serve on the USA Racquetball Board of Directors because I have a passion for racquetball and feel an obligation to serve the USAR in a greater and more comprehensive manner.”
-- JD Shelton

“Most of my week revolves around racquetball—playing it, running it, and planning for its future. In addition to my long history of racquetball playing and board participation, I have some great skills that can be used during my next three years on the USA Racquetball board.”

-- Cindy Tilbury


USA Racquetball's gratitude goes to Mike, JD, and Cindy on their willingness to support USA Racquetball, the sport, and its players. Warm thanks go to departing Board member Joanne Pomodoro for her dedicated service over the past three years.


We invite and encourage USA Racquetball members to consider Board service when the next cycle commences this summer. Another way to become involved is to join a committee of interest. Please visit, About/Contact Us/Volunteer Committees, or contact Vice President Stewart Solomon at



As is the case with all National Governing Bodies of the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee, at least 20% of the USA Racquetball Board of Directors must be comprised of Athlete Representatives. Athlete Representatives are players who have been National Team members in the last 10 years. At least 2/3 of the athletes elected must have competed at an IRF World Championships or Pan American Games in that timeframe. 


The voting body for Athlete Representative selection is comprised of the same National Team athlete group as described above. The USAR Board of Directors congratulates and welcomes Michelle De La Rosa, Danielle Maddux, and Charlie Pratt as Athlete Representatives through 2024, and the Board sincerely thanks departing Athlete Representatives Aimee Ruiz and Jose Diaz for their service and many contributions.

Michelle De La Rosa has been re-elected as an Athlete Representative. She serves on multiple committees and is USAR's designated representative to the USOPC Athletes' Advisory Council. "I understand how to effectively give athletes a voice. I finally started to be able to make a difference, and genuinely feel like this is where I am meant to be, serving my fellow athlete representatives and racquetball players.

Danielle Maddux currently serves on the USAR Finance Committee. "As an athlete and professional in finance and corporate strategy, I hope to promote growth and make a positive impact on the sport we love."

Charlie Pratt is Head Coach of the US Junior National Team and serves on the U.S. Team Committee. "I will always be involved in racquetball, and this is another step toward my involvement in the future of the game."