USA Racquetball News Missouri Tigers Defe...

Missouri Tigers Defend Womens Team Title at Intercollegiate Championships

Sept. 15, 2016, 3:22 p.m. (ET)


Missouri Tigers Defend Women’s Team Title at the

2016 U.S. National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships

Tempe, Ariz. – Earlier this year the University of Missouri Women’s Team defended its title at the 2016 U.S. National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships held at Arizona State University in Tempe, Ariz.  In the Overall Team Competition, MIZZOU finished third.  In all, 218 players from 39 colleges and universities competed in the Championships.

Missouri players performed well across the board in all divisions, with a number of Tigers having stand-out performances.  Missouri women won the #4 and #6 player singles divisions where Kalie Moloney and Madison Myers took the titles respectively.  Myers and Christina Hughes partnered to win the #2 women’s doubles division. Fritz Simmon and Dan Witt battled to third-place finishes in the Men’s #4 and #5 singles divisions, respectively.

Overall, Missouri players finished in the following positions:

Men’s #1 Singles

Alex Lazenby

Round of 16

Men’s #2 Singles

Paul Beffa

Blue Division Runner-Up

Men’s #3 Singles

Mitch Kemiage


Men’s #4 Singles

Fritz Simmon

Third Place

Men’s #5 Singles

Dan Witt

Third Place

Men’s #6 Singles

Trevor Casey

Blue Division Champion

Men’s #1 Doubles

Alex Lazenby / Paul Beffa


Men’s #2 Doubles

Mitch Kemiage / Fritz Simmon

Fourth Place

Men’s #3 Doubles

Trevor Casey / Dan Witt


Women’s #1 Singles

Madeline Gauch


Women’s #2 Singles

Christina Hughes

Third Place

Women’s #3 Singles

Jordan Giljum

Third Place

Women’s #4 Singles

Kalie Moloney


Women’s #5 Singles

Madison Myers


Women’s #6 Singles

Haley Dolezal


Women’s #1 Doubles

Jordan Giljum / Madeline Gauch


Women’s #2 Doubles

Madison Myers / Christina Hughes


Women’s #3 Doubles

Kalie Moloney / Haley Dolezal


Division I Team Competition Results

Overall Team

  1. Oregon State University (1,995.5 points)
  2. Baldwin Wallace University (1,915.0)
  3. University of Missouri (1,912.0)

Men’s Team

  1. Baldwin Wallace University (1,610.0)
  2. Colorado State University-Pueblo (1,341.5)
  3. University Of The Pacific (1,020.0)

Women’s Team

  1. University of Missouri (1,055.0)
  2. Oregon State University (990.5)
  3. Brigham Young University (957.0)

About the U.S. National Intercollegiate Championships

Now in its 44th year, the U.S. National Intercollegiate Championships identifies the best players at U.S. colleges and universities.  The Men’s and Women’s singles champions earn positions on the U.S. National Team.  The team-based format of the Championship allows up to six men and six women from each school to compete in singles point divisions along with three Men’s and three Women’s doubles teams that identify Men’s, Women’s and Overall Team Champions.  The Olympic Format of the championship allows players of all skill levels to compete while ensuring that they play a reasonable number of matches and eventually play opponents of similar skill level.  A Conference Cup competition, which identifies a Collegiate Racquetball Conference champion, is also held within the Championship.

About USA Racquetball

USA Racquetball, founded in 1969, is recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee as the National Governing Body for the sport. The organization annually conducts six national championships and sanctions hundreds of tournaments for players of all ages and skill levels. The organization also organizes the Adult and Junior National Racquetball Teams, oversees the Official Rules of Racquetball, administers National Player Rankings, manages a college scholarship program, and supports the introduction of new players to the sport.

Media Contact

Steve Czarnecki, USA Racquetball Executive Director,