USA Pentathlon Multi... News Articles and Release... Friends and Family W...

Friends and Family Webinar from USOPC

March 22, 2021, 11:08 a.m. (ET)

The following is from the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee.


Earlier this morning, Tokyo 2020, the IOC, and IPC released a statement (available in full here), announcing that overseas spectators will not be allowed into Japan during this summer’s Olympic and Paralympic Games.

We will communicate what this means in terms of family and friends at the Games as soon as we learn more. We are working diligently to learn additional details related to this announcement, including those from our partners such as CoSport, and will relay them to you as quickly as they are available.

As echoed in the letter from Sarah Hirshland, below, we recognize that this announcement may be particularly poignant for Team USA’s friends and family. We are all fortunate to be directly engaged with this community and understand the importance of their engagement to Team USA’s successes, both on and off the field of play. As we move forward, our friends and family support will continue, pivoting as required, to ensure that they are informed, engaged, and their support of their athletes and Team USA will be felt in Tokyo.

We will still plan to host our next webinar on Tuesday, April 13th at 6:00 PM ET (5:00 PM CT/4:00 MT/3:00 PT).
Meeting URL: https://bluejeans.com/2024458523
Phone Number: (408) 317-9253
Meeting ID: 2024458523