Home USA Judo News American Judo Allian...

American Judo Alliance Launches AJDM

July 16, 2020, 1:46 p.m. (ET)

July 16, 2020

Dear USA Judo Members,

The American Judo Alliance, consisting of USA Judo, the US Judo Association and the US Judo Federation, is proud to present the launch of the American Judo Development Model (AJDM); a pathway to human and Judo excellence that is two-fold: age-based and skill-based. This is a first-ever collaborative development model endorsed by all three organizations to benefit athletes, coaches, dojo owners, parents and referees. While the AJDM has great information at its launch, this program will be ever evolving with additional and refined information over time.

Special thanks to the AJA Presidents and AJDM Task Forces for their hard work over the last couple of years:

USA Judo
President Mark C. Hill

Foundational Task Force
Ed Liddie
Brian Olson
Coaches Task Force
Patrick Burris
Ari Miller

John Paccione & Bob Rush
Foundational Task Force
Jason Morris
Celita Schutz
Coaches Task Force
Steve Cohen
Manmohan “Chima” Singh
Kevin Asano & Mark Muranaka
Foundational Task Force
Roy Kawaji
Dan Kikuchi
Coaches Task Force
Larry Tsutsui
Keith Watanabe


Additional Task Force Support was provided by: Neil Simon (Facilitator), Tyler Munoz (USOPC ADM Consultant), Mary Klever (Consultant) and Keith Bryant (USOPC Liaison).

More information about the AJDM, including an on-line course and various resources for athletes, coaches and parents, can be found on the AJDM Website:  https://www.teamusa.org/usa-judo/ajdm.

Also, a Zoom Video Conference featuring several of the above task force members will be held on Friday, July 24, to provide an overview to the AJDM and answer questions. More information can be found on the AJDM website via the above link. Pre-registration is required.

Please submit any questions to americanjudoDM@gmail.com.

We look forward to your feedback and assistance regarding the AJDM as the American Judo Community continues to work together in growing the sport of Judo in the United States!