2018 Hall of Fame Honorary Members Inductees

Helen Allen - Allen began her field hockey journey in 1941 and has stayed active in the game as an athlete, umpire and coach. As an athlete, she was selected for touring teams to England (1953), Scotland and The Netherlands (1948). She also spent 3 years on the reserve team (1949, 1952 and 1953).

One of Allen first coaches was Constance Applebee, the mother of field hockey in the United States. She also spent 50 years rating as a national field hockey official. She officiated at every national tournament from 1945 until 2000 and served as a member of the United States Field Hockey Officials Committee. Allen also coached at Saint Francis High School and Hunter College. She has also spent many years serving the game of field hockey. Most notably she appeared on NBC Nightly News speaking as an ambassador for field hockey and served on the field hockey committee at the Atlanta 1996 Olympic Games.

Barb Carreiro - Carreiro started her field hockey career playing at Bridgewater State College (BSC). She also played for the Rhode Island Field Hockey Association and traveled with that group to play in The Netherlands and on the North East Sectional Team at the National Tournament. Carreiro received her field hockey umpiring rating her sophomore year at BSC after taking an officiating course. After graduation, Carreiro started coaching the Southeastern Massachusetts University team for 5 years.

After leaving coaching, she continued her umpiring and is still a current umpire. Along the way, Carreiro served as the North East Umpiring Chair and from there became actively involved with USA Field Hockey. She served as the Umpiring Chair and also on the Events Committee of the Board of Directors, where she was a member from 2005-08. Carreiro has served as an international technical delegate for the FIH and worked at the International Cup in Pennsylvania, Pan American Games in Winnipeg, Canada and Barbados, and the Champions Challenge in the United States. Carreiro has worked in various roles at many USA camps, National Hockey Festival and AAU Junior Olympic Games, and also served as the umpire liaison at the Junior World Cup in Boston, Mass.

She was named the first NCAA coordinator of officials for field hockey and served in that capacity for 9 years. She is the current collegiate assigner for the Big East, Atlantic 10, Ivy League, Patriot League, Northeast 10, New England Small College Athletic Conference and NECFHUA. She continues to train, develop and evaluate umpires at various events including the Four Goals Collegiate Camp.


Hall of Fame Honorary Members Inductees

 Name Year of Induction
 Helen Allen  2018
 Constance M. K. Applebee (England)  1926
 Helen G. Armfield (England)  1922
 W. A. Baumann (England)  1937
 Helen Bina (Midwest)  1952
 Frances Blomfield (Great Lakes)
 Elizabeth Burger Jackson (Southeast)
 Hilda Burr (England)  1922
 Barb Carreiro  2018
 H. Crawhall-Wilson (Scotland)  1922
 Karen Collins (Colorado)  2016
 Elizabeth Cooper (Southeast)
 Joyce Cran Barry (NE)
 Ethlyn A. Davis (New Atlantic)
 Sophie Dickson
 Gertrude East (Scotland)  1922
 Audrey Erickson (New Atlantic)
 Anna Espenschade (Pacific SW)
 Helen Ferguson (Philadelphia)  1926
 May P. Fogg (New England)  1949
 Tom Harris  2014
 Carol Haussermann (NE)
 Ellen Hawver (Mideast)
 Pat Hayes
 Pam Hixon
 Sylvia Hoffa (South Africa)  1950
 Frances Homer (SE)
 Gertrude Hooper (New England)  1939
 Nan Hunt (England)  1922
 G.M. Inglis (Scotland)  1922
 Steve Jennings
 Bev Johnson (Pacific SE)
 Ethel Kloberg (New Atlantic)
 Linda Kreiser 
 Mrs. Edward B. Krumbhaar (Philadelphia)  1926
 Ruth Lajoie
 Anne Le Delano  1953
 Anne LeDuc (Philadelphia) 
 Hilda Light (England)  1937
 Leslie Milne
 Alfreda Mosscrop (NE)
 Sophie Pearson (England)  1922
 Marion Pettit (Pacific SW)
 Frances Pierce (Great Lakes)  1955
 Betty Richey (NE)
 Grace Robertson (NE)
 Harriet H. Rogers (SE)
 Bessis Rudd (NE)
 Nancy Sawin (New Atlantic)
 Betty Shellenberger 
 Jen Shillingford (Philadelphia)
 Marjorie Strang (New Atlantic)
 Barbara Strebeigh (Philadelphia)  1952
 Bess Taylor (New Atlantic)
 Sharon Taylor 
 Edith Thompson (England)  1937
 Bea Toner (New Atlantic)
 Anne G. Toomey (New England)  1946
 Anne B. Townsend (Philadelphia)  1933
 Roque Viegas  2016
 Harriet Walton (SE)
 Cecily Warner (England)  1922
 Phyllis Weikert (Great Lakes)
 Cynthia Wesson (Midwest)  1929
 Jackie Westervelt (Philadelphia)
 Sally Wilkins (Mideast)
 Elizabeth Williams (Philadelphia)  1972
 Allan Woods  2016