USA Field Hockey NEWS Behind the Whistle S...

Behind the Whistle Scenario: Restart After Ball Goes Over the End Line

Oct. 23, 2020, 12 p.m. (ET)

USA Field Hockey is excited to announce the enhancement of the popular “Behind the Whistle” feature designed to help umpires better understand rules and rule application. USA Field Hockey encourages anyone with an umpiring question or video scenario to please submit it to umpire@usafieldhockey.com. Submissions will be selected to be featured in upcoming Behind the Whistle postings.

Behind the Whistle Scenario: Restart After Ball Goes Over the End Line

The ball is last touched by an attacker and goes over the end line outside of the goal. A player retrieves the ball and rolls it to the goalkeeper in the circle, in line of where the ball went out of play.


The correct answer is...Award a Penalty Corner to the Opponent.

FIH Rule 10.2 - When the ball is inside the circle they are defending and they have their stick in their hand : Goalkeepers are permitted to use their stick, feet, kickers, legs or leg guards or any other part of their body to deflect the ball over the back-line or to play the ball in any other direction.

NFHS Rule 7 ART. 1.a - When the ball is inside the circle the goalkeeper is defending, with stick in hand, the goalkeeper: May use the stick, feet, kickers, legs or leg guards, arms, hands and any other part of the body to propel, stop, push or deflect the ball in any direction;

Guidance: The goalkeeper can only deflect or play the ball. Picking the ball up in this manner does not comply with the rule so is therefore an offense against the goalkeeper. Even though this action is intentional, it does not prevent a sure goal in this situation, nor does it prevent another player from playing the ball…thus a penalty corner is the right decision. Note: It is not a violation of any rule for the goalkeeper to punt the ball high over the heads of players. The picking up the ball in this manner is the foul.