USA Field Hockey Foundation Announces 2019 Annual Award Winners to be Recognized at 2019 USA Field Hockey Summit

Feb. 06, 2019, 3 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - February 6, 2019 - The USA Field Hockey Foundation is excited to announce the winners of the 2019 Annual Awards that more broadly recognize, honor and celebrate individuals across the hockey community whose contributions have made a major and lasting impact on the game of field hockey in the United States.

In 2019, the award winners are:

USA Field Hockey Grow the Game Award - presented to a USA Field Hockey Member who has impacted his/her community through field hockey. This individual has built a foundation for growth and provided opportunities to countless athletes in his/her region that would not exist without his/her efforts. 

  • Grow the Game Award Winner: Alexandra (Malatesta) McMahan

USA Field Hockey National Coach Award - presented to a USA Field Hockey Coach Member that exemplifies the values of sportsmanship, fair play and healthy competition. This individual is dedicated to his/her craft and works tirelessly to make his/her players, fellow coaches and the field hockey community better.

  • National Coach Award WinnerJessica Shellenberger

USA Field Hockey National Umpire Award - presented to a USA Field Hockey Umpire Member who has shown exceptional dedication, integrity and love of the game on and off the field of play. This recipient has treated players, coaches and fans with respect while enforcing the rules and keeping the game safe and fair.

  • National Umpire Award Winner: Maggie Giddens

USA Field Hockey National Club of the Year Award - presented to the USA Field Hockey Member Club who has excelled on and off the field of play. This club has demonstrated skills on the pitch that are recognized by peers and fans, while also showing passion for hockey and sportsmanship off the pitch. They have used field hockey to make an impression on the lives of others and brought opportunity to their community.

  • Club of the Year Award Winner: WC Eagles

Congratulations to all the winners! USA Field Hockey will be honoring the nominees and winners of each category at the 2019 USA Field Hockey Summit, presented by AstroTurf, on Saturday, March 16, 2019 in Baltimore, Md.

To purchase tickets to Summit, please click here.