Mens Masters National Teams Announced for 2014 FIH Masters World Cup

Jan. 24, 2014, 4:15 p.m. (ET)

USA Field Hockey is proud to announce the two Men’s Masters National Team squads representing the U.S. at the 2014 FIH Masters World Cup. The event is being held at HC Rotterdam in the Netherlands June 5-13. Building on its single team representation at the inaugural Masters World Cup in 2012 and last year’s European Open, Team USA is now able to enter men’s teams in two age categories: Over-40 and Over-50.

Selection was extremely competitive. More than 60 athletes participated in trials held in December 2013 at Princeton University on the East Coast, and at Moorpark College on the West Coast. Performance at the trials was evaluated, with an alternative video, interview and reference assessment available for those unable to attend either trial.

The USA Field Hockey’s Men’s Masters Committee was very encouraged by the high level of interest generated and the quality of play shown at the trials. The committee hopes to organize a number of future masters tournaments in the U.S., leading to a growth in the number of U.S. teams which can be entered into international competitions in the future.

Congratulations to the following athletes on their selection to represent Team USA at this year’s FIH Master’s World Cup.

Over 40

Mohammed Barakat
 (Los Angeles, CA), Steve Danielson (Stanford, CA), Ahmed Elmaghraby (Ledgewood, NJ), Binh Hoang (Westlake Village, CA), Tommy Hoang (Thousand Oaks, CA), Srinu Karuturi (Monroe Township, NJ), Paul Lewis (Colorado Springs, CO), Olaf Maack (Hannover, Germany), Ben Maruquin (Ventura, CA), Manuel Morales (Miami, FL), Greg Pereira (Fulton, MD), Gus Reed (Shorewood, WI), Uli Reinhardt-Sega (Ann Arbor, MI), Alvaro Salcedo (Baltimore, MD), Amanmeet Sandu (Corona, CA), Phil Sykes (Clifton Park, NY), Steve Van Randwijck (Amsterdam, NED), Steve Wagner (Philadelphia, PA) 

Over 50

Jose Ceja
(Redlands, CA), Phil Danaher (Tatamy, PA), Joost Douwes (Stanwood, WA), Andrew Dunning (Renton, UK), Richard Hayden (Ashburn, VA), Brian Hope (Blandon, PA), Manzar Iqbal (Darien, CT), Clarence Jennelle (Elverson, PA), Peter Jones (Stamford, CT), Bob Khosla (Phoenix, AZ), John Michalak (Camarillo, CA), Jon O'Haire (Christchurch, NZ), Warren Prestwich (Baltimore, MD), Jeremy Roberts (Beltsville, MD), Brian Spencer (Los Angeles, CA), Ian Tapsall (Fairfield, CT), Ian Wagge (Scottsdale, AZ), Don Warner (Henrico, VA)