USA Field Hockey NEWS USA to Host 2010 Wor...

USA to Host 2010 World Cup Qualifier

Jan. 04, 2010, 5:16 p.m. (ET)

CHULA VISTA, CA - USA Field Hockey will host the AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier, scheduled from March 26 to April 3, 2010 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA.

The USA Field Hockey Women's National Team will welcome traditional Pan American rivals Canada and Mexico, as well as Belgium, France and Korea. The qualifier champion will head to the BDO FIH 2010 Women's World Cup Rosario, Argentina in September 2010.

In preparation for the World Cup Qualifier, the USA will welcome two of the top field hockey nations in the world to the Olympic Training Center in January. The Netherlands and China, winners of the gold and silver medals respectively at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, will visit the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista for a nine-game three nation series. The series will include three contests between Chine and the Netherlands, a rematch of the 2008 Olympic Games gold medal final.

USA Field Hockey encourages all fans to attend the test series in January. All matches for that series are open to the public and attendance is free.

The USA Women qualified for a World Cup Qualifier with a silver medal performance at the 2009 Pan Am Cup. They met 2008 Olympic Games bronze medal winners Argentina in the gold medal match at the 2009 Pan American Cup in February, where Argentina edged the Americans in sudden death penalty strokes.

The USA Women's National Field Hockey Team features team captain Carrie Lingo and Amy Tran, regarded as the best women's goalkeeper in the world.

Nine teams have already automatically qualified for the 2010 BDO Women's World Cup. 18 other nations still have a chance to qualify through one of the three World Cup Qualifiers. The pools and locations for three Qualifiers are:

AtaHolding World Cup Qualifier, San Diego CA, USA, Friday 26 March- Saturday 3 April 2010
USA, Korea, Belgium, Canada, France, Mexico

BDO World Cup Qualifier, Kazan, Russia, Saturday 17-Sunday 25 April 2010
Japan, Azerbaijan, Italy, Russia, Belarus, Wales

BDO World Cup Qualifier, Santiago, Chile, Saturday 24 April-Sunday 2 May 2010
Australia, Ireland, Chile, Malaysia, Scotland, Trinidad & Tobago

The qualification system for the BDO FIH World Cup women 2010 is similar to the one used for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and the Hero Honda FIH World Cup men 2010.

Nine teams are directly qualified through the Continental Championships, while the remaining three vacancies will be filled from three separate qualification tournaments.
The format for the three World Cup Qualifiers is as it was for the Olympic Qualifiers: a six teams' single round robin competition with a final to decide which team will qualify.

The following teams are directly qualified for the BDO FIH World Cup women, to be played in Rosario, Argentina from 30 August-12 September 2010:
• Argentina (Host and Champion of the 3rd Women's Pan American Cup)
• South Africa (Champion of the Africa Cup of Nations, 2009)
• New Zealand (Champion of the 6th Women's Oceania Cup)
• Netherlands (Champion of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• Germany (Silver medalist of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• England (Bronze medalist of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• Spain (Fourth ranked team of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• China (Champion of the 7th Women's Asia Cup)
• India (Silver medalist of the 7th Women's Asia Cup)