USA Field Hockey

National Hockey Festival

Sun, fun, turkey legs and field hockey sticks all in one place has been a staple of the National Hockey Festival for decades. Held each Thanksgiving weekend, thousands of athletes, coaches, umpires and fans alike come together from across the United States and Canada to celebrate the best game on earth.

With the year 2021 marking the 40th edition, Festival continues to be one of the largest field hockey tournaments in the nation and the world for an experience that can’t be beat.

Dates, Locations & Age Divisions

Typical Dates:

  • Thanksgiving weekend Thursday to Sunday


  • 2022: Tampa, Fla.
  • 2021: Tampa, Fla.
  • 2020: Bermuda Run, N.C. & Virginia Beach, Va. - this event did not take place due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Tampa, Fla.
  • 2018: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2017: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2016: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2015: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 2014: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 2013: Palm Beach County, Fla.
  • 2012: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2011: Phoenix, Ariz.
  • 2010: Phoenix, Ariz.
  • 2009: Indio, Calif.
  • 2008: Indio, Calif.
  • 2007: Indio, Calif.
  • 2006: Indio, Calif.
  • 2005: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2004: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2003: Indio, Calif.
  • 2002: Indio, Calif.
  • 2001: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 2000: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1999: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1998: Indio, Calif.
  • 1997: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 1996: West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • 1995: Palm Springs, Calif.
  • 1994: Seminole County, Fla.
  • 1993: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1992: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1991: Coca, Fla.
  • 1990: Coca, Fla.
  • 1989: Salisburg, N.C.
  • 1988: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1987: Irvine, Calif.
  • 1986: Virginia Beach, Va.
  • 1985: Norfolk, Va.
  • 1984: Long Beach, Calif.
  • 1983: Orlando, Fla.
  • 1982: Orlando, Fla.
  • 1981: Orlando, Fla.

Participating Age Division:

  • U-10 Co-Ed, 7v7
  • U-12 Co-Ed, 7v7
  • U-14 Co-Ed, 7v7
  • U-14 Girls, 7v7
  • U-14 Girls, 7v7 & 11v11
  • U-16 Girls, 11v11
  • U-19 Boys, 7v7
  • U-19 Girls, 11v11
  • Mixed, 11v11
  • Womens, 11v11

History & Sponsors


  • Originally started in 1922 National Tournament, the event's main focus was the bring the top college-aged and older athletes together from reach region to compete in a three-day competition that fell during the Thanksgiving weekend. The winner was deemed the national champions and it also served as the U.S. Women's National Team trials.
  • In 1975 the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) added the first national collegiate tournament. The first edition of the event was held at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Va. and was the beginning structure of what most are familiar with as today's postseason collegiate play. This took away the emphasis of the National Tournament.
  • In 1981 the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) took over the collegiate tournament, ending the AIAW. With the official postseason tournament now under a structured organization, the focus shifted for the National Tournament and instead of being an event only for college-aged and older athletes, it was opened up to clubs and high schools.
  • In 1981, the event was rebranded to be called Hockey Festival, and later changed to National Hockey Festival, was a High School Jamboree that allowed high school aged athletes the opportunity to compete against other squads from across the country. Since then, the Jamboree evolved into age groups featuring U-16 and U-19 pool play. 
  • The very first Hockey Festival took place from November 25-29, 1981 in Orlando, Fla. behind the corporate building of Martin-Marietta Corporation. This event included 47 club teams.
  • In 1982, a Mixed division was added and offered male athletes their first chance to compete at the Hockey Festival.
  • In 1984, an Open division was added and was originally created as the championship for officially rostered club teams.
  • In 1986, a Men's division was added. 
  • In 1987, a Non-Competitive Recreation Sub-Division (Open, Club and Masters Divisions) was added.
  • In 2008, a Boys division was added.
  • In 2013, a U-14 7v7 division was added.
  • In 2014, a Women's division was added.
  • In 2017, a U-12 Co-Ed 7v7 division was added.
  • In 2018, a U-14 11v11 division was added.
  • In 2020, this event did not take place due to COVID-19.
  • In 2021, Festival celebrated its 40th year.
  • In 2022, U-10 Co-Ed (7v7) and U-14 Co-Ed (7v7) divisions were added.


  • Fine Designs, merchandise sponsor, 2022
  • Harrow Sports, licensee sponsor, 2011 - 2021
  • CranBarry, presenting sponsor, 2009 -2019
  • Goal Sporting Goods, goal supplier, 2007 - 2013