FIH Hockey Pro League


Oct. 06, 2021 - June 19, 2022

The FIH Hockey Pro League is the annual global league involving hockey’s best national teams in the world, Men and Women.

The best team of the season – having accumulated the highest number of points at the end of the League - is crowned Champion and receives the FIH Hockey Pro League Trophy.

The FIH Hockey Pro League enables fans to go and see their favorite team play eight games at home against the elite of international hockey during the season, something which happens rather rarely in hockey where most international competition games are held though tournaments played in just one country.

Its first edition was played in 2019. Australia (men) and The Netherlands (women) were the inaugural Champions.

The FIH believes the FIH Hockey Pro League is transforming the landscape of international hockey because hockey fans all over the world are able to watch their favorite sport for an extended period on the same television channel or on the streaming platform each year. Moreover, those fans whose team is participating have the chance to be part of the noise and sheer excitement of watching their team regularly in their home country.

The competition format is identical for the men’s and women’s leagues.

What are the numbers?

  • There are 9 men’s and 9 women’s teams
  • Therefore, every team plays 8 home and 8 away matches (with 2 back-to-back matches against the same team in the same venue)
  • That means there are 144 FIH Pro League matches altogether