• Continental champion qualifies for the 2018 FIH Hockey World Cup
  • Top six teams qualify for the 2021 Pan American Cup
  • Teams placed 7th and 8th will play in the 2019 Pan American Challenge



The Pan American Cups is an international field hockey competition for men and women organized by the Pan American Hockey Federation (PAHF). The tournament started in the year 2000 for the men's competition and one year later for the women's.

The winner of each tournament is awarded an automatic berth to the men's Hockey World Cup and women's Hockey World Cup, respectively. Before its creation, teams would only qualify for the World Cup if they had finished in the higher the position in previous edition or by winning a berth at a World Cup Qualifier.

Taking a trawl back through the Cup’s 17-year history, one striking thing is how the world order of hockey has changed. In front of a home crowd in 2000, Cuba breezed through the men’s event, racking up 51 goals in the pool matches that included a 14-0 demolition of both Peru and Barbados and a 3-1 win over Argentina. The final was a close affair between Canada, who had beaten Argentina in the semifinals on penalty strokes, and Cuba, who had continued to score freely with a 8-0 win over Chile.

In the 2004 edition, which acted as a qualifying event for the 2006 Monchengladbach World Cup in Germany, it was Los Leones who dominated. To be more accurate, it was the firepower of Jorge Lombi, with 26 goals to his name, that propelled Argentina toward their first Pan American Cup. The final was against Canada and, in a repeat of the 2000 edition, the Red Caribous lost 2-1.

That scoreline was reversed four years later in Chile when Canada met USA in the final. After two silver medals, the Canadians were determined to take gold but they were made to fight all the way. In the semifinals, they met a resolute Argentina and the match went to extra time, with Canada coming from behind twice. At full-time it was 3-3 and Connor Grimes became Canada’s hero when he scored the winner in the 80th minute.

In the final, Canada met USA and again they had to fight back from 1-0 down to take the match to extra time. This time Paul Wetlaufer was the hero as he scored the winner to hand Canada a well-deserved title.

The fourth edition was held in Canada, with the winner guaranteed a place at the 2014 World Cup in The Hague, The Netherlands. This was the first sighting of the exciting team that was beginning to develop in the blue and white colors of Argentina. A year later the same players were wearing bronze medals around their necks as they surprised the hockey world with a third place finish at the World Cup. Gold at Rio was the culmination of this team’s talents and ambitions. Again, it was Canada who suffered the heart-break of a loss in the final, 4-0 to Argentina – all four goals scored by the precocious talent of Gonzalo Peillat.

The women’s events have been dominated by three teams. With one exception, the results have been Argentina, USA and Canada – gold, silver, bronze respectively. The one change to the order was Chile’s bronze medal at the expense of Canada in 2009. While Argentina might have bragging rights at this event, there is evidence that the other teams are closing the gap. In a thrilling match in 2009, USA held Las Leonas to a 2-2 draw and sent the game to penalty strokes. At the end of the first round of penalty strokes, the score stood at 4-4 so the match went to sudden death. USA attempt missed and Noel Barrionuevo stepped up to slot home to give Argentina the title.

In the 2013 edition, held in Mendoza, it was again the USA who were determined to halt the Argentine dominance of the event. It was a closely fought, competitive match with just one goal separating the teams – a 55th minute goal from Delfina Merino.



PAC - Men's Winners
Year Location 1st 2nd 3rd
2013 Brampton, Canada Argentina Canada Trinidad
2009 Santiago, Chile Canada USA Argentina
2004 London, Canada Argentina Canada Chile
2000 Havana, Cuba Cuba Canada Argentina

PAC - Women's Winners
Year Location 1st 2nd 3rd
2013 Mendoza, Argentina Argentina USA Canada
2009 Hamilton, Bermuda Argentina USA Chile
2004 Bridgetown, Barbados Argentina USA Canada
2001 Kingston, Jamaica Argentina USA Canada