Ron O'Brien To Be Inducted Into U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall Of Fame

By USA Diving | Sept. 23, 2019, 11:43 a.m. (ET)

The United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee announced Monday that coach Ron O’Brien will be inducted into the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame.

The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame, class of 2019, will be honored and inducted at an awards dinner Friday, Nov. 1, at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs. O’Brien is the only coach who will be inducted in 2019; the class of 2019 also includes nine individuals, one team, two legends, and one special contributor, and together, represents 12 different sports.

An eight-time Olympic coach, O’Brien coached 19 Olympians, with his divers winning 12 Olympic medals (five gold, three silver, and four bronze).

O’Brien also served as a seven-time World Cup coach, a seven-time World Championship coach and a four-time Pan American Games coach. Every gold medal at the 1982 World Championships was won by O’Brien’s divers.

On the national scene, O’Brien produced at least one U.S. national champion for 24 straight years (1973-1996), highlighted by the 1986 season when all 12 national titles were awarded to his divers.
In all, O’Brien’s divers won 196 gold, 113 silver and 106 bronze medals in Olympic, World Championship, World Cup, Pan American, World University, USA Diving, NCAA and Big Ten competitions.

He is a member of the International Swimming Hall of Fame and Ohio State University Hall of Fame as well as USA Diving’s Rings of Honor.

The other Hall of Fame inductees are Candace Cable (Para alpine skiing, Para Nordic skiing, Para track and field), Lisa Leslie (basketball), Nastia Liukin (gymnastics), Misty May-Treanor (beach volleyball), Apolo Anton Ohno (short track speedskating), Erin Popovich (Para swimming), Dara Torres (swimming), Chris Waddell (Para alpine skiing, Para track and field), the 1998 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, John Carlos (legend: track and field), Tommie Smith (legend: track and field), and Tim Nugent (special contributor).

This will be the 16th class inducted into the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame, bringing the total to 154 inductees (individuals and teams). The first class was inducted in 1983.

The 13 inductees were determined by a voting process that includes Olympians and Paralympians, members of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic family, and an online vote open to fans.

The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place Nov. 1 in conjunction with the all-alumni U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Team Reunion. The ceremony will be hosted by NBC’s Jimmy Roberts and will feature more than 200 U.S. Olympic and Paralympic alumni, including several current members of the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame.