USA Diving Features Bill Farrar named 20...

Bill Farrar named 2019 Paragon Award Recipient for Competitive Diving

By USA Diving | Jan. 29, 2019, 2:29 p.m. (ET)

FORT LAUDERDALE – The International Swimming Hall of Fame announced that Bill Farrar has been selected as a recipient of the 2019 Paragon Award for competitive diving. The 24th Annual Paragon Awards are presented annually to individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to aquatics.

Farrar was a member of the Board of Directors for USA Diving for sixteen years, having served as both Vice Chair of Administration and as Law and Legislation/Governance Chair. He began his service with USA Diving in 1990 as a delegate from the Potomac Valley Diving Association and a member of the Law and Legislation Committee as a Zone A Member. Farrar was also a member of the Business Affairs Advisory Committee and led the Bylaws Committee that created the Amended and Restated Bylaws of USA Diving in 2017. He also served as a member of the Selection Committee that recommended Debbie Hesse as the first President and CEO of USA Diving, as well as Linda Paul. Throughout his many years of service, Farrar reviewed and drafted many contracts of several types and provided legal counsel to the Board, the Executive Director and the Presidents.

“The annual Paragon Awards bring some of the most interesting and fascinating people each year to the Hall of Fame,” said ISHOF CEO Brent Rutemiller. “These are the unsung heroes who make competitive and recreational aquatics possible, who save lives, who promote water safety and further aquatic education.”

Farrar, along with his fellow recipients, will be honored at the ISHOF’s ceremony on Friday, May 17, 2019 at the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Fort Lauderdale. Tickets to attend the Paragon Awards, a part of ISHOF’s 55th Annual Hall of Fame Honoree Weekend can be purchased here.