Men's NCAA Championships: Miami's Dinsmore wins platform title

By USA Diving | March 25, 2017, 8:39 p.m. (ET)

Miami redshirt freshman David Dinsmore came out ahead in a battle with 2016 Olympian Steele Johnson to claim his first NCAA title with a victory on platform Saturday night at the NCAA Championships in Indianapolis.

Dinsmore topped the field with 528.20 points, scoring 81 points or higher on all six of his dives. He clinched the title with 95.40 points on his final dive, a back 2 ½ with 2 ½ twists. Purdue’s Johnson scored 506.05 points for second after winning 1-meter and 3-meter titles earlier in the week. Dinsmore, who won the 10-meter title at the 2016 USA Diving Winter National Championships, competed only on platform at the NCAA Championships.

Dinsmore and Johnson were the only divers to surpass 500 points in the finals. Ohio State’s Zhipeng Zeng was third at 478.25 points, followed by Brandon Loshiavo (Purdue), Tyler Henschel (Texas A&M), Dashiell Enos (USC), Matt Barnard (Minnesota) and Ted Miclau (Stanford).   

Florida State’s Dylan Grisell won the consolation final. Also scoring team points in the consolation final were Dominic Giordano (Pitt), Christopher Law (Ohio State), Max Showalter (Purdue), Andrew Cramer (Northwestern), Scotia Mullin (Wyoming), Cody Coldren (Indiana) and Scott Lazeroff (Auburn).