USA Diving Features China dominates last...

China dominates last leg in Madrid (ESP)

June 02, 2009, 12 a.m. (ET)

The Chinese divers dominated the sixth and last meet of the 2009 FINA Diving Grand Prix, organised in Madrid (ESP), from May 29-31. Out of the eight events of the competition, the athletes from China conquered the gold in seven of them, leaving the title in the men's 10m platform synchro for the Cuban pair Jose Guerra Oliva/Jeinkler Aguirre.
Also among men, Canadian star Alexandre Despatie was silver medallist in the 3m springboard, while Matthew Mitcham (AUS), 2008 Olympic champion of the 10m platform, finished second in this event, behind China's Yanquan Zhang.

In the women's competition, the Chinese took it all, leaving Australians Olivia Wright with the silver in the 3m springboard and Alexandra Croak with the bronze in the 10m platform.

Divers from eight countries - Australia, Canada, China, Cuba, Egypt, France, Italy and Spain - conquered medals in Madrid.

3m springboard: 1. Shixin Li (CHN) 504.50; 2. Alexandre Despatie (CAN) 473.10; 3. Javier Illana (ESP) 446.80
10m platform: 1. Yanquan Zhang (CHN) 532.15; 2. Matthew Mitcham (AUS) 525.40; 3. Jose Guerra Oliva (CUB) 524.80
3m springboard synchro: 1. Shixin Li/Minghong Wu (CHN) 440.31; 2. Jorge Betancourt/Jose Guerra Oliva (CUB) 405.87; 3. Damien Cely/Mattieu Rosset (FRA) 401.85
10m platform synchro: 1. Jose Guerra Oliva/Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB) 455.94; 2. Yuan Cao/Yanquan Zhang (CHN) 451.11; 3. Tarek Sheira/Ziad Aboul Gheit (EGY) 229.17

3m springboard: 1. Qulin Zheng (CHN) 317.20; 2. Olivia Wright (AUS) 297.40; 3. Lin Qu (CHN) 293.05
10m platform: 1. Yadan Hu (CHN) 403.55; 2. Jiao Liu (CHN) 377.70; 3. Alexandra Croak (AUS) 342.30
3m springboard synchro: 1. Lin Qu/Qulin Zheng (CHN) 312.60; 2. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 300.90; 3. Amanda Moran/Hailey Casper (CAN) 270.27
10m platform synchro: 1. Tian Liu/Jiao Liu (CHN) 308.70; 2. Pamela Ware/Carol-Ann Ware (CAN) 291.66; 3. Audrey Labeau/Claire Febvay (FRA) 276.18