FINA World Championships begin July 17 in Rome

July 12, 2009, 12 a.m. (ET)

Team USA is headed to Rome for the FINA World Championships, which begin Friday, July 17 and continue through July 25.

The 13-member team features nine members of the 2008 U.S. Olympic team, including three-time Olympian and three-time World Championship medalist Troy Dumais (Ventura, Calif.) and 2007 World Championships bronze medalists David Boudia (Noblesville, Ind.) and Thomas Finchum (Indianapolis, Ind.). Other Olympians on the squad include Kelci Bryant (Chatham, Ill.), Chris Colwill (Brandon, Fla.), Mary Beth Dunnichay (Elwood, Ind.), Haley Ishimatsu (Seal Beach, Calif.), Christina Loukas (Riverwoods, Ill.) and Ariel Rittenhouse (Santa Cruz, Calif.).

Brittany Viola (Orlando, Fla.) makes her first appearance at the World Championships since 2003. Teens Kristian Ipsen (Clayton, Calif.) and Nick McCrory and Florida State's Terry Horner (Orlando, Fla.) will make their world debut.

July 17 - Men's 1-meter (Colwill, Horner); Women's 10-meter (Ishimatsu, Viola)
July 18 - Women's 10-meter; Men's 3-meter synchro (Dumais/Ipsen)
July 19 - Women's 1-meter (Loukas, Viola); Women's 10-meter synchro (Ishimatsu/Dunnichay)
July 20 - Women's 3-meter (Loukas, Rittenhouse), Men's 10-meter (Boudia, McCrory)
July 21 - Men's 10-meter, Women's 3-meter
July 22 - Men's 3-meter (Colwill, Dumais)
July 23 - Women's 3-meter synchro (Bryant/Rittenhouse), Men's 3-meter
July 24 - Men's 10-meter synchro (Boudia/Finchum), Women's 3-meter synchro
July 25 - Men's 10-meter synchro

- USA Diving -

Featuring America's best divers, USA Diving is the national governing body for the sport of diving. Headquartered in Indianapolis, USA Diving offers diversified programs geared toward the broadest number of diving enthusiasts, from the novice to the world champion. USA Diving conducts approximately 40 regional and national events annually and is responsible for training and selecting teams that represent the United States at international events such as the Olympic Games, World Championships and World Cup.