Kaiser Permanente National Championships underway with synchronized preliminaries

July 23, 2008, 4:14 p.m. (ET)
PASADENA, Calif. - The 2008 Kaiser Permanente National Diving Championships opened up Tuesday with preliminaries in synchronized diving at the Rose Bowl Aquatics Center.

The top six teams on each event advance to the synchronized diving finals, set for Saturday (women's 3-meter and men's 10-meter) and Sunday (women's 10-meter and men's 3-meter).

The 2008 U.S. Olympic team members may advance directly to the finals and did not compete Tuesday.

Michelle Cabassol (Montgomery, Texas) and Kaylea Arnett (Spring, Texas) won the women's 3-meter synchro prelims with 262.71, followed by Christina Loukas (Riverwoods, Ill.) - a 2008 Olympian individually on 3-meter - and Amanda Miller (Centreville, Va.) at 250.80. Rebecca St. Germain (San Antonio, Texas) and Kathryn Connolly (San Antonio, Texas) took third with 243.58 points.

Cabassol and Arnett also finished first in the women's 10-meter synchro contest with 255.72 points. Jacqueline Schroeder (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Aleia Monden (Mililani, Hawaii) were second at 241.41, followed by Amy Korthauer (Naperville, Ill.) and Cassandra Cardinell (Loudonville, N.Y.) at 216.24.

Matt Cooper (Bethesda, Md.) and Harrison Jones (Spring, Texas) finished atop the standings with 358.71 points in the men's 3-meter synchro prelims, with Landon Marzullo (Columbus, Ohio) and Taylor Roberts (Bloomington, Ind.) taking second at 336.84. Cole Young (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Drew Brown (Centennial, Colo.) were third at 324.18.

Marzullo and David Legler (Blue Springs, Mo.) scored 342.00 points to lead the men's 10-meter synchro field. Young and Brown were second with 328.50 points, with Kris Hill (Akron, Ohio) and Will Bohonyi (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) in third at 300.18.

The 2008 Olympic team members in synchronized diving are Chris Colwill (Brandon, Fla.) and Jevon Tarantino (Boca Raton, Fla.) for men's 3-meter synchro, Kelci Bryant (Chatham, Ill.) and Ariel Rittenhouse (Santa Cruz, Calif.) for women's synchronized 3-meter, David Boudia (Noblesville, Ind.) and Thomas Finchum (Indianapolis, Ind.) for men's synchronized 10-meter, and Mary Beth Dunnichay (Elwood, Ind.) and Haley Ishimatsu (Seal Beach, Calif.) for women's synchronized 10-meter.

The Kaiser Permanente National Diving Championships run through Sunday, July 27. Wednesday's competition begins at 3 p.m. and features women's 3-meter quarterfinals and semifinals and men's 1-meter semifinals and finals.