USA Curling Features USA Curling 2020 End...

USA Curling 2020 End of Year Award Winners

Nov. 17, 2020, 4 p.m. (ET)

2020 End of Year Award Winners


On an annual basis, the United States Curling Association awards the profound accomplishments of the athletes and coaches who dedicate so much to the game. Awards are voted on for the following categories:

  • Athlete of the Year (Female, Male & Wheelchair)
  • Coach of the Year
  • Developmental Coach of the Year
  • Team of the Year

This year, USA Curling was excited to roll-out a new voting process for the End of the Year Awards. Following the submission of nominations from USA Curling’s National Team Coaching Staff, voting was opened to the following five groups of stakeholders:

  • Fans
  • Peers
  • Hall of Fame Committee
  • Coaches
  • Board of Directors

At the conclusion of the voting process, six award winners were determined.

Patrick Mcdonald, 2020 Wheelchair Athlete of the Year

Mcdonald, a National Team member and a 2x Paralympian (’10, ’14), has also been part of the WCF Athlete Commission since 2016. Mcdonald is a coordinator of the World Wheelchair Curling Tour, was the event director of the first USA Wheelchair Mixed Doubles Bonspiel and has dedicated a countless amount of time to being a wheelchair curling instructor and trailblazer.


 Joe Polo

Joe Polo played an integral role on Team Dropkin as they won the Tour Challenge and became the first US men’s team to win a Grand Slam of Curling event. In addition to making US Curling history with Team Dropkin, Polo also won the 2020 Mixed Doubles National Championship alongside his teammate, Tabitha Peterson.

Tabitha Peterson, 2020 Female Athlete of the Year 

Tabitha Peterson stepped into the skipping position in the 2019-20 season and led her team to not only a national championship, but also to the highest ranked women’s team in the United States. In addition to her leadership in the women’s field, Peterson became a national champion in mixed doubles alongside her teammate, Joe Polo.

Natalie Nicholson & Laine Peters, 2020 Coaches of the Year 

The duo of Natalie Nicholson and Laine Peters co-coached Team Peterson to an international event title, a national championship title, and elevated their squad to a top ten women’s team in the world.

Wayne Anderson & Keith Dropkin, 2020 Developmental Coaches of the Year 

Co-coaches, Wayne Anderson and Keith Dropkin, coached Team Sinnett to a bronze medal at the Junior National Championships and the Men’s National Championship.

Team Peterson, 2020 Team of the Year 

Team Peterson (Tabitha Peterson, Nina Roth, Rebecca Hamilton, Tara Peterson & Aileen Geving) hit the ground running after winning their first event of the season in Uiseong, South Korea. The team went on to qualify for playoff in both of the Grand Slam of Curling events that they played in, won the 2020 Women’s National Championship, and sit as the highest ranked women’s team in the United States.

USA Curling thanks all winners and nominees for their unwavering commitment to the sport of curling. When it is safe to do so, the organization looks forward to holding an awards ceremony where a proper recognition and in-person celebration can occur.