USA Curling Features Team Violette captur...

Team Violette captures junior men's national title

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 18, 2020, 1:43 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 18, 2020

Team Violette captures 2020 Junior Men’s National Championship title

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Seattle’s Luc Violette was in a comfortable and very familiar position as he made the winning shot to capture his fifth national title today in Eau Claire, Wis.

Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.) and teammates Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), and Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) defeated Kevin Tuma’s Minnesota squad, 6-4, to finish the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships with a perfect 8-0 record.

The team will now represent the United States at the 2020 World Junior Championships Feb. 15-22 in Krasnoyarsk, Russia. The team is coached by 2018 Olympic champion Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.)

This is the fifth junior national title for Violette and fourth straight for Richardson, Graem Fenson and Violette. This is Harstad’s first title and Riley Fenson’s second. It is also the final year of junior eligibility for Violette, Richardson and Harstad.

With the final shot of the game Violette, 20, needed to draw the full eight foot to secure his fifth junior title, which ties Chris Plys for the most U.S. junior men’s titles overall.

Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.) and teammates Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), and Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.) won the 2019 U18 National Championships and now add silver medals from the U21 event in a spectacular week for the young squad.

The game started out with Tuma converting a nice double takeout to force Violette to draw for a single point. In the second end Tuma was light on his attempt to score two points and settled for one to tie the game. A nose hit from Violette in the third end produced the game’s lone deuce. The teams would then exchange singles in the fifth, sixth and seventh ends. Tuma played a nice eighth end to force Violette to take yet another single.

Team Tuma had some chances to score multiple points in the championship final but couldn’t quite line up the stones precisely enough. In the ninth end the team’s deuce opportunity dissipated halfway through the end when a draw shot was light. Tuma tried to set up the deuce later in the end but couldn’t position his hit and roll into a scoring position, which forced him to make a takeout for one point. Team Violette kept the scoring area open for Violette to draw in for the win with the final stone of the game.

The women’s championship final between Cora Farrell (6-1) and Delaney Strouse (6-2) will take place today at 1 p.m. Watch live at

Line score, men’s final:

Kevin Tuma        010 010 101 0 – 4

*Luc Violette     102 001 010 1 – 6

*last rock in first end

Gold medalists:

Team Violette: Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Silver medalists:

Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.)

Bronze medalists:

Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.)

Team Jones: Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Anna Tamboli (Portage, Wis.)

Follow along:

A live webstream and live scoring will be available for fans to follow along. All event information can be found at

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Luc Violette

head shot

Ben Richardson

head shot

Jon Harstad

head shot

Graem Fenson

head shot

Riley Fenson