USA Curling Features Strouse rink wins ju...

Strouse rink wins junior women's national title

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 18, 2020, 4:34 p.m. (ET)


Jan. 18, 2020

Team Strouse holds on to win 2020 Junior Women’s National Championship title

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – A dream season is complete for Delaney Strouse’s squad as they captured the junior women’s title today at the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Eau Claire, Wis.

Strouse (Midland, Mich.) and teammates Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), and Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.) played a patient and precise game to defeat Cora Farrell’s squad, 9-8 in an extra end, this afternoon at the Eau Claire Curling Club. Team Strouse is coached by Susan Lang of Canada.

It is the first junior women’s title for the foursome but not their first time in the spotlight. Mullaney and Dudt won the U18 national title last season and Mullaney also won the mixed national championship title and competed at the 2020 World Mixed Championship.

It was a back-and-forth battle between the two teams from USA Curling’s Junior High Performance Program. Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska) and her team of Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio), and alternate Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.) controlled the first four ends of the game with Strouse making the most of opportunities in the second half to fuel their win.

Team Farrell capitalized on a missed takeout to draw in for two points to start the game strong. Strouse would be forced to draw for a single point in the second end after last-rock thrower Flannery was able to chip out a partially buried Strouse stone.

Farrell would patiently wait for another deuce opportunity that came in the fourth end to extend the lead to 4-1. That deficit would be erased in the fifth end after Strouse’s team scored three points – nearly four – to tie the game. Team Strouse played a strong sixth end and had a steal in play for the majority of the end. A heavy draw on Flannery’s first skip stone allowed Strouse to further guard her team’s stone on the button. Strouse’s guard over-curled, however, to leave Flannery with a second attempt to score. Her shot to remove it wasn’t precise and Strouse came away with a well-earned steal.

In the seventh end, Team Strouse again got a stone buried in the four-foot behind a center guard. This time, the end turned in favor for Farrell’s side and Flannery capitalized with a draw for two points to take the lead back. Strouse’s squad got a deuce set up in the eighth end and ended up drawing in for three points when Flannery’s final takeout attempt was not delivered before crossing the hogline.

Another strong end from Team Strouse forced Flannery to draw the full button with the final stone of the ninth to score one. Up one with the hammer, Team Strouse saw their final stone rub on a center guard as Farrell’s side stole a point to force one more end. With Farrell lying two in scoring position Team Strouse could either draw the four-foot or attempt a double takeout. They opted to draw and swept it hard into a winning position.

Line score, women’s final:

Delaney Strouse              010 031 030 01 – 9

*Cora Farrell                    200 200 201 10 – 8

*last rock in first end

Gold medalists:

Team Violette: Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.)

Team Strouse: Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.)

Silver medalists:

Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.)

Team Farrell: Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)

Bronze medalists:

Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.)

Team Jones: Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), Anna Tamboli (Portage, Wis.)

Follow along:

A live webstream and live scoring will be available for fans to follow along. All event information can be found at

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Delaney Strouse

head shot

Sydney Mullaney

head shot

Susan Dudt

head shot

Rebecca Rodgers

head shot

Cora Farrell

head shot

Cait Flannery

head shot

Allison Howell

head shot

Rebecca Miles

head shot

Leah Yavarow