USA Curling Features Watch the semifinals...

Watch the semifinals of the Junior Nationals today

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 17, 2020, 10:20 a.m. (ET)


Jan. 17, 2020

Playoffs set today at 2020 Junior National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Four days of round robin action concluded with the playoff teams being determined at the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Eau Claire, Wis.

Defending champion Luc Violette led his team to a perfect 7-0 record to advance directly to Saturday’s championship final at the Eau Claire Curling Club. Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.) and his team of Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.), and Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) held off Daniel Murray’s Minnesota team to earn a 6-4 victory in the final round robin session yesterday afternoon. With a two-loss provision in place, Team Violette (7-0) will play the winner of the semifinal between Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.) and Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.) in the final at 9 a.m. CT Saturday. If Violette’s team loses the final there will be a second final played at 1 p.m. that day. The semifinal between Sinnett (6-1) and Tuma (4-3) will take place at 2:30 p.m. today. Tuma’s team started the day needing to keep their win streak going and accomplished just that when they got past Daniel Casper’s team, 6-1.

Cora Farrell’s rink also advances directly to Saturday’s gold-medal game after winning the round robin portion with a 6-1 record. Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska) and teammates Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio), and Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.) will play the winner of today’s semifinal match between Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.) and Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.). That game also will be played at 2:30 p.m. Strouse’s team (5-2) scored four points in the 10th end last night against Jones (5-2) to tie the game and then stole a point in the extra end to secure a semifinal berth.

The semifinal games will be streamed live today. Go to for the stream link and live scores as well.



Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.)          7-0Q

Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.)               6-1Q

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     4-3Q

4. Benjamin Randall (Janesville, Wis.)      3-4

5. Daniel Casper (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.)  3-4

6. Daniel Murray (Nisswa, Minn.)             2-5

7. Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.)             2-5

8. Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.)     1-6


Draw 7: Randall 9, Thurston 5; Tuma 6, Casper 1; Sinnett 7, Wendling 3; Violette 6, Murray 4


Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska)                6-1Q

Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            5-2Q

Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.)            5-2Q

4. Christine McMakin (Fargo, N.D.)          4-3

5. Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska)           3-4

6. Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.) 3-4

7. Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)      2-5

8. DaKotah Crotty (Pardeeville, Wis.)      0-7


Draw 7: Normandeau 8, Crotty 4; Farrell 9, McMakin 1; Traxler 7, Kitchens 6; Strouse 9, Jones 8 (extra end)

Draw 6: Farrell 9, Crotty 3; Kitchens 10, Jones 8; Strouse 8, Traxler 6; Normandeau 8, McMakin 7

Playoff teams:

#1 seed, Team Farrell: Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska), Leah Yavarow (Bemidji, Minn.), Cait Flannery (Mankato, Minn.), Allison Howell (Solon, Ohio), Rebecca Miles (Duluth, Minn.)

#1 seed, Team Violette: Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.)

#2 seed, Team Strouse: Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Sydney Mullaney (Concord, Mass.), Susan Dudt (Malvern, Pa.), Rebecca Rodgers (Leyden, Mass.)

#2 seed, Team Sinnett: Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.), Sam Strouse (Midland, Mich.), Eli Clawson (Clarksville, Md.), Ethan Sampson (Edmore, N.D.), Trevor Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.)

#3 seed, Team Jones: Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.), Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.)

#3 seed, Team Tuma: Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.), Samuel Clasen (Roseville, Minn.), Michael Mattson (Woodbury, Minn.), Sidney Harris (St. Paul, Minn.), Austin Bengtson (Spicer, Minn.)

Follow along:

A live webstream and live scoring will be available for fans to follow along. All event information can be found here:

About the event:

The Junior National Championships feature 16 competing teams. The round robin continues through Thursday with the playoffs starting on Friday morning. The championship games will take place on Saturday. The winning men’s team will represent the United States at the 2020 World Junior Championships Feb. 15-22 in Krasnoyarsk, Russia. The U.S. did not qualify a women’s team for the world championship, unfortunately.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).

Related Athletes

head shot

Cora Farrell

head shot

Luc Violette

head shot

Delaney Strouse

head shot

Chase Sinnett

head shot

Samantha Jones