Playoff field taking shape at 2020 Junior Nationals

By Terry L. Davis | Jan. 16, 2020, 10:25 a.m. (ET)


Jan. 16, 2020

Playoff field taking shape at 2020 Junior National Championships

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Two men’s teams punched their tickets to the playoffs yesterday at the 2020 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Eau Claire, Wis.

Teams skipped by Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.) and Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.) met last night in round robin action with Violette prevailing, 8-7, to keep their record perfect and pave their way to the playoffs on Friday. Sinnett’s team is 5-1 and comfortably in place for the modified Page playoff as well with one spot left to be determined. Daniel Casper’s team started Wednesday in good shape but lost both games to drop to 3-3. In contrast, Kevin Tuma’s team improved to 3-3 to make a move for playoff consideration. If Violette wins the round robin outright, his team of Graem Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Ben Richardson (Cleveland, Ohio), Riley Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), and Jon Harstad (Duluth, Minn.) will advance directly to Saturday’s championship final.

Wisconsin’s Samantha Jones rink leads the women’s division after triumphing over previously undefeated teams led by Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Christine McMakin (Fargo, N.D.). Jones and her team of Abigail Marquardt (Poynette, Wis.), Elizabeth Vorpahl (Portage, Wis.), Anna Armstrong (Appleton, Wis.), and Anna Tamboli (Portage, Wis.) are now 5-0 in the seven-game round robin. Farrell and McMakin are now tied for second place with 4-1 records. Farrell bounced back last night with a 10-7 victory over Delaney Strouse to stay in the playoff hunt.

The round robin continues today with draws at 8 a.m., 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. If needed, tiebreaker games will be played at 8 tonight CT. A live webstream and live scores are linked at



Luc Violette (Lake Stevens, Wash.)          6-0Q

Chase Sinnett (Medfield, Mass.)               5-1Q

Daniel Casper (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.)      3-3

Kevin Tuma (St. Paul, Minn.)                     3-3

Daniel Murray (Nisswa, Minn.)                 2-4

Benjamin Randall (Janesville, Wis.)          2-4

Wes Wendling (Wausau, Wis.)                 2-4

Coleman Thurston (Poynette, Wis.)         1-5


Draw 6: Violette 8, Sinnett 7; Tuma 8, Thurston 7 (extra end); Randall 10, Casper 3; Murray 7, Wendling 5

Draw 5: Sinnett 7, Thurston 3; Wendling 9, Randall 3; Violette 7, Casper 1; Tuma 8, Murray 4


Samantha Jones (Endeavor, Wis.)            5-0

Cora Farrell (Fairbanks, Alaska)                4-1

Christine McMakin (Fargo, N.D.)              4-1

Delaney Strouse (Midland, Mich.)            3-2

Ariel Traxler (Fairbanks, Alaska)               2-3

Abbey Kitchens (Devils Lake, N.D.)           1-4

Anya Normandeau (Burnsville, Minn.)    1-4

DaKotah Crotty (Pardeeville, Wis.)           0-5


Draw 5: Traxler 9, Normandeau 4; Kitchens 8, Crotty 5; Farrell 10, Strouse 7; Jones 8, McMakin 5

Draw 4: McMakin 10, Strouse 6; Jones 7, Farrell 4; Normandeau 9, Kitchens 5; Traxler 9, Crotty 5

Follow along:

A live webstream and live scoring will be available for fans to follow along. All event information can be found here:

About the event:

The Junior National Championships feature 16 competing teams. The round robin continues through Thursday with the playoffs starting on Friday morning. The championship games will take place on Saturday. The winning men’s team will represent the United States at the 2020 World Junior Championships Feb. 15-22 in Krasnoyarsk, Russia. The U.S. did not qualify a women’s team for the world championship, unfortunately.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Brakebush, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Franklin Group, ISS (Ice, Sports & Solar), Sitrin, Thorne, Toyota, Traveler’s Choice, Twin Cities Orthopedics, and Volt, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, Rock Solid Productions Inc., United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, IHG, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications,, 608-338-9900 (mobile).